Notices
Futaba Radios Direct support forum Ask any questions you may have about Futaba radios and product here and get answers direct from Futaba

T6K versus T16SZ throttle/motor cut

Old 11-28-2021, 03:16 AM
  #1  
bodger
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default T6K versus T16SZ throttle/motor cut

I have upgraded from a T6K to a T16SZ transmitter and gradually moving my electric planes to the new system. On the T6K tx I use the Throttle Cut in Mode ESC, Rate 0%, THR 4% and Switch SWA down. The T6K has a two step safety feature which prevents the motor from starting unless the throttle stick is in a fully down/off position. On the T16SZ I have substituted Throttle Cut with the Motor function (page 151) operated from switch SA. This works in a similar fashion except it lacks the T6K's built-in safety feature. If you accidentally knocked switch SA then the motor will power up at whatever position the throttle stick is set at. I hope I have explained my issue clearly enough to for you to understand.

Is there a way to get the T16SZ to mimic the T6K's ESC Throttle Cut extra safety feature ?
Old 11-28-2021, 04:27 PM
  #2  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,192
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

I use conditions

I set up a zero throttle curve in the default condition.
Then I set an on/off switch for it.
All my flying conditions require enabling that condition AND switching the motor feature to allow the throttle to be active.

So throttle is dead at start up. THen I need to move a switch to enter a flying condition and also turn the motor on in the motor menu.

OR you can use a dual rate set to zero flat across throttle curve. That way you have to enable the motor in the motor menu AND move the dual rate to have an active throttle.
Old 11-29-2021, 01:55 AM
  #3  
bodger
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FUTABA-RC View Post
I use conditions

I set up a zero throttle curve in the default condition.
Then I set an on/off switch for it.
All my flying conditions require enabling that condition AND switching the motor feature to allow the throttle to be active.

So throttle is dead at start up. THen I need to move a switch to enter a flying condition and also turn the motor on in the motor menu.

OR you can use a dual rate set to zero flat across throttle curve. That way you have to enable the motor in the motor menu AND move the dual rate to have an active throttle.
Bill, thanks for your reply. Do you know if there is a uTube video which would help me set up the tx conditions you describe ?
regards,
Cliff
Old 11-29-2021, 08:00 AM
  #4  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,192
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default



There are several other videos as well. Do a search for 16SZ videos. Chip did several.
Old 12-02-2021, 11:30 AM
  #5  
bodger
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Bill, thanks for your reply.

I've tried the first option you described, I have two conditions MotorOff (zero throttle curve) & MotorOn (normal throttle curve) controlled by a rotary dial LD with wide hysteresis to make it unlikely to accidently alter this in flight.

Trying to get my head around the second option you described (...OR you can use a dual rate set to zero flat across throttle curve, etc ). If I managed to set this up .... would it mimic the way the T6K's ESC throttle cut works ?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.