Notices
Futaba Radios Direct support forum Ask any questions you may have about Futaba radios and product here and get answers direct from Futaba

BLS671SV use in jet airplane

Old 05-20-2023, 02:38 PM
  #1  
OAK
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lier, NORWAY
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default BLS671SV use in jet airplane

Hi.

Looking for servos in my H9 MB-339. The manual calls for Spektrum A5080 servo.

The Futaba servo that I have found with similar spec and dimensions is BLS671SV. However it is listed as a car servo in the catalogue, although the manual does mention this specifically. The manual does say that it is for models with electric power train only.

So the question is, any reason not to use this servo in a jet model?
Old 05-22-2023, 10:09 PM
  #2  
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,409
Received 43 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

The main reason it is considered a car servo is because the deadband on surface servos is very tight which is not desirable on an airplane.

If you can program a little wider deadband it should be fine.

What feature makes this your choice? Speed? Torque?
Old 05-23-2023, 01:11 PM
  #3  
OAK
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lier, NORWAY
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

What makes it my choice is because the manual calls out the Spektrum A5080 and the cutouts is ready for a servo of this size.

I have very good experience with Futaba servos and not so much experience with Spektrum so just feels more comfortable to go with something from Futaba,

Comparing specs
A5080 0.11 sec/60 deg @ 7.4V;118 oz-in (8.5kg-cm) @ 7.4V Size 15 x 36 mm
BLS671SV
7,4V: 0,10sek/60, 8,3 kg Size: 15 x 33 mm

Last edited by OAK; 05-23-2023 at 01:53 PM.
Old 05-23-2023, 02:22 PM
  #4  
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,409
Received 43 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

Given that I would use the BLS173. Same size and speed with torque about the same (not enough of a difference to notice). It is made for airplanes and has a normal case.
Old 05-23-2023, 07:47 PM
  #5  
My Feedback: (15)
 
mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 3,541
Received 85 Likes on 75 Posts
Default

bill,
gotta ask, can the XXXXSV servos be used as a regular plug into the rx servo, or must they be on the buss to work?
Old 05-23-2023, 07:53 PM
  #6  
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,409
Received 43 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

All S.Bus servos can be used as normal servos
Old 05-23-2023, 09:19 PM
  #7  
My Feedback: (15)
 
mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 3,541
Received 85 Likes on 75 Posts
Default

cool
Old 05-23-2023, 11:42 PM
  #8  
OAK
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lier, NORWAY
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by FUTABA-RC
Given that I would use the BLS173. Same size and speed with torque about the same (not enough of a difference to notice). It is made for airplanes and has a normal case.
Thanks, That looks like a better candidate indeed.
The following users liked this post:
FUTABA-RC (05-24-2023)

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.