Notices
Futaba Radios Direct support forum Ask any questions you may have about Futaba radios and product here and get answers direct from Futaba

What Happened???????????

Old 07-26-2008, 03:07 PM
ronofnc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What Happened???????????

Alright, I know I should not have flown but was anxious since I am new to RC flying. After building a Phoenix 330s Extra with an OS 91fx engine I did a radio check and was surprised to see a lot of servo wiggle (rudder and throttle) with no input on the two transmitter (T4EXA 4 channel) controls. I was using 2 Futaba digital S3152 servos for the elevator and Futaba S3004 analog servos for everything else. The receiver was a Futaba R168DF FM. I changed the receiver, same results. I tried a Futaba T4EXA 6 channel transmitter, same results. Replaced the S4004 servos, same results. The wiggle occurred 1 foot away or 10 feet away with collapsed antenna. At 30 feet away no wiggle so I went flying, big mistake. At takeoff the plane went sharp left then it went straight up then sharp left again, I had no control as plane circled back to me and crashed into field. Checking the radio out at home I found that moving the antenna around the servo wiring caused the rudder servo to do a hard full left on two occasions and the wiggle was very intermittent. Finally I changed the on off charging switch and all the servos got real quite! So the question is should I trust the radio now or is there a more comprehensive test I could try? I am out of town tomorrow but hope I can get some good advice on this; I appreciate any help, thanks.
Old 07-28-2008, 02:53 PM
Bax
My Feedback: (11)

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: What Happened???????????