Notices
Futaba Radios Direct support forum Ask any questions you may have about Futaba radios and product here and get answers direct from Futaba

FP S128 Voltage Limit

Old 06-27-2010, 08:00 AM
  #1  
RCPtero
Thread Starter
 
RCPtero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 333
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FP S128 Voltage Limit

Hi! I'm assembling an Ultra Stick 40 ARF. I'm planing on using a switching BEC to supply the RX with 6.0v. I have an old Futaba FP S128 servo I was looking to use on the throttle. Can I drive the S128 at 6.0v? Or do I need to drop it down to 4.8v? I've looked on the web, but can't seem to find any specs that speak to the voltage requirements for this servo.


Tom
Old 06-28-2010, 09:00 AM
  #2  
Krysta
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 3,796
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: FP S128 Voltage Limit

The S128 servo will be fine at 6 volts as long as it's regulated.


Sincerely,
Krysta
Product Development & Support Specialist
Futaba Service Center USA
[email protected]
Old 06-28-2010, 06:01 PM
  #3  
RCPtero
Thread Starter
 
RCPtero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 333
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: FP S128 Voltage Limit

Thanks much!!
Old 09-09-2021, 05:00 AM
  #4  
Creative RC
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I know this is old, but I bought a plane that has 3 of these old FP-S128 servos and was wondering whether they could run on 6.0 volts. The fellow I bought it from had just recently installed a UBEC and set it at 6 volts. They seem to be working fine.

I found an instruction manual online for the Futaba FP-2GS transmitter which comes with two of these servos. See photo below.

The servo specs say the power requirements are 4.8V - 6V. Since it mentions current drain at 6.0V, I assume the torque of 48.7 oz-in and the speed of .24 sec/60 degrees are also at 6.0V, although it does not specifically state that.


Last edited by Creative RC; 09-09-2021 at 05:04 AM.
Old 09-09-2021, 06:48 AM
  #5  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,175
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

That servo as stated above in this tread are fine on 6 volts as long as it is regulated voltage. The speed and torque shown are at 4.8 volts. Both will be faster/higher at 6 volts, but not hugely faster/higher.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.