Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

3MM 53 Hop Up kit

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2010, 06:46 PM
RPool

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3MM 53 Hop Up kit

I just installed the Hop Up kit for the 3MM 53. I've never worked on a carb before and the kit didn't come with instructions (just an oversight I am certain.) Since it is the wekend, it'll be several days before I'll probably be able to contact Wild Hare R/C. I want to run the engine this weekend so I thought I'd check here. Is there anyone who has the 53 that can verify I stacked things properly from looking at this picture? My biggest question is about the red plastic gasket...is it in the right place? Also, the nipple on the reed block...does this act as an alternative to adding a nipple to the pressure plate with a line running to the fuse? The kit came with an extra nipple and I'm not sure if I am supposed to stick on the plate anyway. Thanks all!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr49627.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	129.6 KB
ID:	1503099  
Old 09-18-2010, 07:05 PM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: 3MM 53 Hop Up kit

The nipple in the reed block should be for the impulse signal to the pump on the carb.

The other nipple you mentioned may possibly go to the pump cover on your carb? If there is already a nipple on the pump cover of your carb then it could be used in the vent hole of the steel regulator cover?

You will need to run a length of Tygon line between the nipple on the reed bock and the nipple on your fuel pump cover.

Did you also get the Frank Bowman single ring?

Old 09-18-2010, 10:21 PM
RPool

Nope, no ring. Did you do this modification too? How did it work out?
Old 09-18-2010, 10:24 PM
w8ye

When I saw your post, I looked around at what others had to say about this modification. Plus someone experienced with two stroke gas engines can sort of figure out what is going on and where the parts go.