Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

Need help with firewall for gas engine

Community
Search
Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Need help with firewall for gas engine

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2012, 05:56 AM
schokshi

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with firewall for gas engine

Folks,
I am new to gas engines. i have purchased RCGF 15 CC & am planning to install it in H9 Pawnee 40. It requires me to shorten engine box length by about 20 mm. I have never done this before & would like to ask you the following questions:

1) I am planning to cut existing engine box by 20 mm & build a new box with 1/4" thick plywood, is that fine?
2) Are there general guidelines as to how to build engine box so that is strong enough? is there any Dremel attachment that will let me cut 1/4" plywood easily?
3) H9 manual does not state right & down angle thrust that is build in current engine box, how do i find out what they should be

Thank you very much for your responses.
Old 02-23-2012, 06:15 AM
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: Need help with firewall for gas engine

I haven't done one that small, but have done several 30cc size with the same problem. On yours I would cut a 20mm section out of the middle of the box holding the firewall, then splice the front back on if that makes any sense? That way I don't loose the original angle the firewall is installed at?

I use a hand held 1" X-acto razor saw to make the cuts. It cuts straight and clean. Sounds like a lot of work, but actually the cutting, doing it a side at a time, only takes maybe 15 minutes.
Old 02-23-2012, 06:27 AM
schokshi

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ahicks,