G 26 (Magneto) engine cutoff?

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2013, 09:58 AM
Termites Dream
My Feedback: (11)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default G 26 (Magneto) engine cutoff?

Gents,
I recently bought two new G-26 Magneto engines for a 101 inch Ziroli B-25 I am building. My question is how to have an ignition cutoff operated from the Tx. I do not want to convert it to EI. My options are:

1. Choke servo. The choke doesnt look like I could easily attach an arm to it for the pushrod but maybe I could weld something on.
2. Buy their kill switch and weld an arm onto that for a ball link?
3. Not have a killswitch.

What do people do for these?

Thanks,
David
Old 01-06-2013, 10:16 AM
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: G 26 (Magneto) engine cutoff?

You can always use carburetor kill from you throttle servo. Dan.
Old 01-06-2013, 10:25 AM
Termites Dream

Thanks, Dan, might have to do that. I have been flying a Top Flite B25 for 3 years, glow engines, and of course there is no ignition kill on that. We are "supposed" to have ignition kill on gas engines but maybe its not necessary. Throttle servos dont fail often.

Anyone have any other opinions? Since this is a twin, if I did have a stuck throttle on one side the ignition kill might help save the plane. Otherwise I would have to wait for fuel exhaustion and if the engine with the good throttle servo flamed out first, I would lose the plane for sure.
Old 01-06-2013, 11:39 AM
Checklst

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts