Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

New JC EVO 60cc Twin

Old 06-23-2013, 10:43 PM
  #1  
AeroGasRC
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New JC EVO 60cc Twin

Guys a sneek peek at the new JCEVO 60cc twin. I should have some art work tomorrow to share of the engine, they are in production run and will be in stock at our website about mid July. pricing to be anounced.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
Li20872.pdf (100.5 KB, 316 views)
File Type: pdf
Us54605.pdf (100.5 KB, 232 views)
Old 06-23-2013, 10:45 PM
  #2  
AeroGasRC
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New JC EVO 60cc Twin


Old 06-24-2013, 02:15 AM
  #3  
Tony Hallo
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springdale, PA
Posts: 1,602
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New JC EVO 60cc Twin

Is it 2 x 30 or 60 cc? The attachment shows a 60 twin?
Old 06-24-2013, 06:50 AM
  #4  
AeroGasRC
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New JC EVO 60cc Twin

sorry guys its a 60 twin it was late when i posted I hit the wrong button but corrected the posting
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq47762.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	118.9 KB
ID:	1894685   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rn39165.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	120.0 KB
ID:	1894686   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ej12038.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	114.7 KB
ID:	1894687   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kd89050.jpg
Views:	229
Size:	125.7 KB
ID:	1894688   Click image for larger version

Name:	Uf50501.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	102.4 KB
ID:	1894689   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hy33552.jpg
Views:	258
Size:	70.7 KB
ID:	1894690  
Old 12-14-2013, 09:23 PM
  #5  
fw190
My Feedback: (37)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Burbank, CA,
Posts: 1,380
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It appears 1/2" shorter in width than the DLE60 twin, what rpm are we looking at with a 22x10 prop?

Vic
Old 12-15-2013, 08:50 AM
  #6  
vertical grimmace
My Feedback: (1)
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,206
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Angled plugs would be a nice change to make. Anything to make it easier to keep it inside a cowl.
Old 06-10-2014, 08:21 AM
  #7  
jstanton
My Feedback: (14)
 
jstanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Millington, TN
Posts: 3,141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

What is the correct drill guide for this engine? Will a drill guide for a DLE-30 work?
Old 06-10-2014, 02:29 PM
  #8  
AGMUSA
My Feedback: (1)
 
AGMUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: milwaukie, OR
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default JC 60 twin from Canada or Hobbyking

look like both supply have different price . different is AMR-RC did have local service . but HK not. so it's good JC have USA dealer and local service with this price .
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	JC60 HK.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	14.7 KB
ID:	2003611   Click image for larger version

Name:	JC60AMR.jpg
Views:	327
Size:	15.1 KB
ID:	2003612  
Old 06-13-2014, 04:28 AM
  #9  
fdbzdfhhu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The attachment shows a 60 twin?
Old 06-30-2014, 09:56 AM
  #10  
jstanton
My Feedback: (14)
 
jstanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Millington, TN
Posts: 3,141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am thinking about getting one of these JC 60 twins. Has anyone out there used one of them yet and what is you opinion of it? I am building a 1/4 scale Gee Bee model Y Sportster with a 91" wing span and this engine seems just right for it. I am really looking for RPM's numbers with different size props. Right now I have a few 22x10 Xoar's that might be good for it.
Old 07-03-2014, 02:26 PM
  #11  
Motorhomer
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cottonwood, AZ AZ
Posts: 127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If it's anything like the 30cc, GOOOOOOD luck, you'all will need it. IMHO, of course.
Ken McCormack
Old 07-11-2014, 07:35 PM
  #12  
jstanton
My Feedback: (14)
 
jstanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Millington, TN
Posts: 3,141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Got my JC 60 twin in this week and just got it mounted to a test stand. I hand to adjust the low end on the carb to get it to start and the plugs that came with it had to be gapped to the correct clearance. One I had these two things set it started right up using my HD started. I have a VV 22x10 prop on it and I have a good 1700RPM idle and it hit 6800RPM on top end just for a few seconds. I have the gas oil mix at 30 to 1. I hope to get many more runs on it this coming week and I'll report my finding with some different props. I have a 20x10 MAS I would like to try
Old 12-01-2014, 04:19 PM
  #13  
slaterm61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi there,
glad to hear you have had good luck with this motor. I bought mine recently and cannot get it to start. We were not sure the carb was set right, so we set it to 1 1/2 turns on the low and high end as suggested in the manual.


Sadly we struggled to get much more than a burp out of it, and that was only after putting a tiny bit of petrol directly into the cylinders. I will try your suggestion and set the low end to 1 3/4 and the gap to .22 as you suggested in a post on hobbyking.

Any other tips for getting this so far not very impressive motor to start ?

Michael



Originally Posted by jstanton View Post
Got my JC 60 twin in this week and just got it mounted to a test stand. I hand to adjust the low end on the carb to get it to start and the plugs that came with it had to be gapped to the correct clearance. One I had these two things set it started right up using my HD started. I have a VV 22x10 prop on it and I have a good 1700RPM idle and it hit 6800RPM on top end just for a few seconds. I have the gas oil mix at 30 to 1. I hope to get many more runs on it this coming week and I'll report my finding with some different props. I have a 20x10 MAS I would like to try
Old 12-01-2014, 06:48 PM
  #14  
jstanton
My Feedback: (14)
 
jstanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Millington, TN
Posts: 3,141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Michael,

Sorry you are having issues with your engine. If you have the gap on the plugs set at .22 and the low end set at 1 3/4 and it is still not starting I would check the screen filter on the carb to see it it is clogged. The first time I started the engine I used a Heavy Duty starter I had. Once I got fuel to the carb it started right up. I hope this has been of some help
Old 12-01-2014, 07:05 PM
  #15  
slaterm61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

did you mean .022 on that spark plug gap ? We tried to use a starter, but it wouldnt grip the prop hub good enough to turn the engine. I think we might machine something that fits and give it another try after adjusting the spark plug gap and setting the setting the low end.

thanks for the advice.

Michael

Originally Posted by jstanton View Post
Michael,

Sorry you are having issues with your engine. If you have the gap on the plugs set at .22 and the low end set at 1 3/4 and it is still not starting I would check the screen filter on the carb to see it it is clogged. The first time I started the engine I used a Heavy Duty starter I had. Once I got fuel to the carb it started right up. I hope this has been of some help
Old 12-01-2014, 07:06 PM
  #16  
slaterm61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have to ask, how is it running now after being run for a while ?
Old 12-02-2014, 02:49 AM
  #17  
jstanton
My Feedback: (14)
 
jstanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Millington, TN
Posts: 3,141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Michael,

Yes the gap on the plugs is .022. My engine is still running great. I do not have it on any plane at the moment because I just started building the 91" Gee Bee Model Y sportster that is will be moment on. I have one question. When your choke the engine and spin the prop do you see gas being pulled from the tank to the carb? I made a attachment for my HD starter to go over the bolts on the hub to turn the engine over. It is very hard for the carb to pump full to the engine when the diaphragm is dry. That is why a starter is the best bit on a new engine. Good luck and keep us posted.
Old 12-02-2014, 03:17 AM
  #18  
slaterm61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

After flipping the prop so many times that i might drop from exhaustion, i noticed a small amount of fuel in the line leading up to the carb. We tried putting some fuel directly into the cylinders i got a few pops out of the motor.. that was about it.

Originally Posted by jstanton View Post
Michael,

Yes the gap on the plugs is .022. My engine is still running great. I do not have it on any plane at the moment because I just started building the 91" Gee Bee Model Y sportster that is will be moment on. I have one question. When your choke the engine and spin the prop do you see gas being pulled from the tank to the carb? I made a attachment for my HD starter to go over the bolts on the hub to turn the engine over. It is very hard for the carb to pump full to the engine when the diaphragm is dry. That is why a starter is the best bit on a new engine. Good luck and keep us posted.
Old 12-02-2014, 06:37 AM
  #19  
jstanton
My Feedback: (14)
 
jstanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Millington, TN
Posts: 3,141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It sounds like the diaphram in the carb is not doing its job and it is more than likely because it is dry. You my also have a dirty screen fliter in the carb. Remove the cover that has one large screw on it and look at the small screen and see it is is clogged up with something. After doing that I would drop just a little gas down into the carb threw the venturi and give it a god flip. It should pop or even start and run for a second or too. That should get some gas into the lines and into the carb. After that coke it again and see if you can get a pop. If you do than the engine should start once you open the choke. Good luck!
Old 12-02-2014, 09:30 AM
  #20  
jstanton
My Feedback: (14)
 
jstanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Millington, TN
Posts: 3,141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Michael,

Here are a few pics of mine running. Sorry for no video but you can see how I have mine mounted to my stand at see how it was doing according to the tach.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	jc60twin.jpg
Views:	665
Size:	326.9 KB
ID:	2051624   Click image for larger version

Name:	jc601.jpg
Views:	582
Size:	490.3 KB
ID:	2051625   Click image for larger version

Name:	jc602.jpg
Views:	578
Size:	278.3 KB
ID:	2051626   Click image for larger version

Name:	jc603.jpg
Views:	576
Size:	360.4 KB
ID:	2051627  
Attached Images     

Last edited by jstanton; 12-02-2014 at 09:36 AM. Reason: Had wrong pics on post
Old 12-21-2014, 03:45 AM
  #21  
slaterm61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi,
Great photos.. got it running in the end, you were right.. once i put a spinner on it, and borrowed a friends starter to spin it around, it fired right up.. 1 1/2 turns out on both screws.

thanks for the advice,

Michael

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uKOiBJ3zWIY
Old 12-21-2014, 05:53 AM
  #22  
jstanton
My Feedback: (14)
 
jstanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Millington, TN
Posts: 3,141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Michael,

Great video! What size prop are you using and what is the RPM's with that prop?. I like the size of the stick you have it mounted to. What is the wing span on the monster?\
Old 12-21-2014, 07:27 AM
  #23  
slaterm61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi,
Glad you like the Video. The stick has a 100" wingspan and the prop is a 22x10 cheapie that i got from HobbyKing. Now that the motor is running, i'll test fly it some time after the new year.

Michael
Old 01-12-2015, 01:00 PM
  #24  
elmshoot
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nashville, IN,
Posts: 1,483
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I purchased this engine on sale last year and intended to install it in a Bates F6F Hellcat. Sadley with the sparkpugs and ignition caps in place the engine is just too wide to fit within the cowl. It wouldbe great if the plugs were mounted on an angle or 90 Degrees would be best. So now my project languishes for need of a suitable engine that will fit within the generous cowl.
I just noticed that OS is producing a GAS GLOW Plug.
Will that gas glow Plug work in other gas engines and specifically would it work in on a JC60 Twin?
Has anyone done any testing?
Sparky
Old 01-12-2015, 01:29 PM
  #25  
jstanton
My Feedback: (14)
 
jstanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Millington, TN
Posts: 3,141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Sparky,

I have this JC60 twin also and I was wondering the same thing. I also have a OS GT15 with a cm6 spark plug. OS has come out with the OS GGT15 which is the same engine I have and it is a golw version. So if the OS GT15 can be converted to a glow plug I don't see why other gas engine can't be. You would need to purchase a 10mm to 1/4 adapter so the gas glow plug could be used. This is a interesting question and I might just give it a shot. Got nothing to loose except for the cost of the adapters and glow plugs.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.