Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

What engine do I have?

Old 09-16-2013, 05:31 PM
  #1  
Mikes145
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 54
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What engine do I have?

I bought this plane used and am unsure what engine is in it. It says Cheetah 00701 on it and from my limited research I think it may be similar to a US engine. Also, what size is it? I currently only have 2 DLE's and 1 DL and don't know much about this type of engine such as what is needed to get it running. I just start it after priming as it doesn't have an electronic ignition, correct?

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG1085.jpg
Views:	233
Size:	815.5 KB
ID:	1921488   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG1086.jpg
Views:	215
Size:	1.14 MB
ID:	1921489  
Old 09-16-2013, 06:07 PM
  #2  
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,576
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

It is a US41

Last edited by w8ye; 09-16-2013 at 06:53 PM.
Old 09-16-2013, 06:10 PM
  #3  
earlwb
 
earlwb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 5,993
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

It is essentially the same as a US Engines 41cc gas RC engine. The later engines had electronic ignition. But the earlier ones were magneto ignition (the flywheel is a good sign of having a magneto on them). There is a connector pin on the magneto that allows you to hook up a servo controlled switch so that you can ground the pin and kill the ignition when the engine is running. But yes you are coorect, just prime the engine and give it a really good flip of the prop and it ought to fire right on up.

They were discussing it here in this thread a while back too.
ref http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/gas-...cc-engine.html
Old 09-16-2013, 06:46 PM
  #4  
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,576
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

This engine was not sold by Tower Hobbies. It is a US41, but one sold by a individual in Upstate NY that bought the US engines from the manufacturer and resold them as Cheetah Engines. Some even had battery powered CD ignition. They often had a couple options not sold on a new engine by the manufacturer.

I think Tower had a exclusive sales agreement on US41's so the new guy had to call them something else.

The Quadra 42 is essentially the same engine but was made in Canada.

The US 41 was derived from the Quadra 42 but was made in Upstate NY.

Last edited by w8ye; 09-16-2013 at 06:52 PM.
Old 09-17-2013, 03:58 PM
  #5  
STUKA BARRY
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Summerfield, NC
Posts: 1,946
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The Cheetah was sold by Reid's Model Products. Not exactly power house, but they were/are a dependable engine. An 18X10 prop was sufficient for this engine.
Old 09-17-2013, 05:16 PM
  #6  
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,576
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Correct, I couldn't remember his name but I bought a Wolf Predator 30 from him one time. Nice guy.
Old 09-17-2013, 06:06 PM
  #7  
tkg
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Riverton, WY
Posts: 3,114
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

This engine is setup for the CH jump start. There should be a module, switch and an outboard battery box. The jump start would provide a hot spark at 1 rpm where a pure magneto would need 4-600 rpm to spark.
Old 09-18-2013, 06:24 AM
  #8  
Mikes145
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 54
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

That's what the switch is for, thanks. I don't have the battery holder and cord for the switch. It looks like the cord I use to charge my transmitter. Any idea where to find the cord and is there an adapter that I could just use a spare 4.8 volt battery pack to use? Or should I just covert to electronic ignition?
Old 09-18-2013, 06:41 AM
  #9  
irocbsa
My Feedback: (12)
 
irocbsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 1,186
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You must have picked up that plane that was on Craigslist. Looks beautiful! It seemed like the guy was willing to practically give it away. Hope you got a got deal on it. I was thinking about calling him even though I just bought an identical plane a couple of weeks ago.

There was a G-38 on the plane I bought. That was promptly removed in favor of a 53cc twin. Do you know what your plane weighs?
Old 09-20-2013, 12:54 PM
  #10  
tkg
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Riverton, WY
Posts: 3,114
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Find what pluga fits, center pin is+. 4.8 is a maybe. Use 5 cells (6v).
Fly your plane, see if it has the power you want. EI will change the balance and maybe add200 rpm.
The G38 is very reliable,just down on power to modern designs.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.