Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Trouble shooting ignition

Old 11-10-2013, 06:31 AM
  #1  
jetmech05
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,855
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trouble shooting ignition

Howdy
no flying for me yesterday went to the field set up and my DA 170 wouldn't start. Had gas. Opened up the cowl pulled the sparkplugs and no spark. Bypassed the optic kill by going directly off of the voltage regulator no help. Put everything back and came home. Voltage to the module is good at 5 volts.
Heres the question what should you read when the magnet passes the puck up? I tried reading continuity as the magnet passed the pick up but all I had was open
Old 11-11-2013, 08:31 PM
  #2  
av8tor1977
My Feedback: (6)
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,217
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I can't swear to it, but I believe the DA system generates a slight current when the magnet passes the sensor to trigger the ignition. It shouldn't read open.

AV8TOR
Old 11-11-2013, 08:51 PM
  #3  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 5,176
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

My new / never used DA spare sensor measures 257 ohms between the brown and orange leads. It is a coil and not a hall sensor as used on most ignitions.
Old 11-12-2013, 05:19 AM
  #4  
K-Bob
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Anytown
Posts: 1,287
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Keep in mind when testing for a spark that on a DA the hub must pass the sensor at > 300RPM
Old 11-12-2013, 06:08 AM
  #5  
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,575
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

The DA has a coil or inductive pick up as has already been mentioned. You should read continuity but little voltage unless the crank is moving pretty good.
Old 11-12-2013, 11:24 AM
  #6  
kmeyers
 
kmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 817
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Wires can break anywhere. Look for a possible easy fix if a wire outside of the coil is where your open is.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.