Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

FTL 30 - No Spark

Old 11-10-2013, 05:30 PM
  #1  
cwhipple
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belle Center, OH
Posts: 127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FTL 30 - No Spark

Cannot get spark on motor. Anyone have a spare ignition to sell or ideas on how to test it?

Chris
Old 11-10-2013, 05:35 PM
  #2  
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,605
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Get in touch with Adrien and see what he has. Dan.
http://www.ch-ignitions.com/
Old 11-10-2013, 07:45 PM
  #3  
BadAzzMaxx
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Auburn, GA
Posts: 1,369
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Trouble shooting
If you are having a problem with your ignition there is a couple ways to help you track it down.

First if the engine is mounted to a plane and you are having a problem, Bypass all switches and electronic devices and hook a battery direct to the ignition.

If there is still a problem, install a plug into the plug cap, Hook up a good battery to the ignition and unplug the black connector going to the hall sensor, Take a small wire and touch the two outside wires on the connector, The ignition should fire each time you touch and then release the wire from the connector.

If the engine has crashed or nosed over and the spark plug hit the ground you could have damaged the plug cap or cracked the porcelain on the spark plug, Just because it will fire outside the engine does not mean it will fire under the pressure of the engine.
Old 11-13-2013, 08:48 AM
  #4  
spasmatic
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: knoxville, TN
Posts: 79
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Milton, I hooked up my rc excel ignition as you outlined and did get a spark. Thank You. Now since I do have a spark, what is the next step. Does it mean my sensor is bad? What should I check next? The engine is a DLE 20cc and was running great until the throttle plate came loose (flew for 20 min). After I tightened it back up and installed it back in my plane I started it and was adjusting the idle when it stopped. I could not get it to fire again and pulled the plug and found no spark.
Old 11-13-2013, 09:49 AM
  #5  
Texastbird
 
Texastbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 1,217
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Sometimes the sensor is too far away from the magnet to trigger a spark.
Old 11-13-2013, 10:02 AM
  #6  
av8tor1977
My Feedback: (6)
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,217
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

If you got a spark doing it the way Milton said, then yes, your sensor is bad. Doing that trick by passes the sensor and is a good trouble shooting trick. You need a new sensor. They do go bad from time to time. Having an extra on hand isn't a bad idea.

AV8TOR

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.