Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

starter flu for gas eng

Old 01-21-2014, 05:50 AM
handyman
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question starter flu for gas eng

ok i am a bit new to gas ,,,,,,,,can you use a shot of starter flu to fire up a motor.........?
Old 01-21-2014, 08:58 AM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

It is not good for them as it contains no oil
Old 01-21-2014, 10:29 AM
Rafael23cc
My Feedback: (6)

Let me ask the obvious question.....

Why do you think you need starting fluid to start the engine?

Rafael
Old 01-21-2014, 10:40 AM
av8tor1977

Really bad for two stroke engines and not all that great for four strokes either. I believe they actually make some that has some oil in it for use on two strokes, but I still don't recommend it. It really isn't needed in any case.

AV8TOR
Old 01-21-2014, 10:42 AM
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)

I wouldn't use starter fluid as it ignites violently. It could lead to a nasty whack (or worse) on the fingers or hand. Unless it is extremely cold out, our engines should start just fine using normal starting techniques.

Many of these fluids do contain a lubricant and the cans are labeled as such. As pointed out by w8ye, many do not have a lube. I wouldn't think it an issue either way though as used properly, no liquid would enter the engine ... only vapor.
Old 01-21-2014, 11:05 AM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

As already stated ...don't use it, If you feel you need to use starting fluid then something isn't correct with the engine/carb/.fuel set-up.
If the engine does not have a manual or automatic choke and you can see/touch the carb air input then you can plug it with your finger or a small ball on a stick while rotating the engine with the throttle open. When your finger gets wet the engine is primed.