Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Left ovwe fuel in gas engines

Old 12-02-2014, 07:28 AM
hbrannan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Left ovwe fuel in gas engines

Do you run your engine after flying to empty all fuel left in carburator or not? I have been tol to leave the fuel in the engine and have been told to run them dry! Whats the best?
Old 12-02-2014, 07:36 AM
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I run ethanol free gas through the engine for two minutes at medium throttle and run the carburetor dry. It works for me. Dan.
Old 12-02-2014, 08:08 AM
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)

Received 67 Likes on 54 Posts

My airplanes are kept in the house and being a retired Firefighter, I don't want gas left in the models so I run 'em dry at the end of the day. Some folks claim that you should leave the fuel in for various reasons which I do not believe are valid. I've been doing this for 10 years and haven't had an issue. Bye the way, I also run my weed eater, my lawn mower, my leaf blower and my chain saw (as recommended by Stihl) dry for the Winter....
Old 12-02-2014, 08:24 AM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 175 Likes on 150 Posts

I always leave a little fuel in the tank. Because of the ethanol in all gasoline now if the carbs are run dry the flexible parts in the carb can dry out and become stiff. I don't think this would be an issue if the airplane gets flown once every month. As Dan Suggests, running an ethanol free fuel and then draining would be the best solution.
Old 12-02-2014, 12:05 PM
earlwb

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts