Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

dle 35 break in rpm

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2018, 08:46 AM
left seat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default dle 35 break in rpm

I have a new DLE 35 gas engine and it came with very little information on the break in proceedure. With nitro it is very straight forward, but gas, I assume, is different. First, at what rpm should I limit the rmps, should I vary the rpm's and how many tanks of gas should I run through it before the first flight? I am new to gas engines and want to break it in properly. Also, it calls for Gasoline with an octane rating of 87 would higher octane rating be better for the life of the engine? I have searched the web looking for answers but have found nothing with regaurds to my questions. Sure hope you can help.
Old 04-14-2018, 09:29 AM
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)

Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts

There are many opinions on break in and here's mine based on both experience and what is fairly common practice these days. First 87 octane is plenty for your engine. Considering the engine's fairly low compression it will gain nothing by using higher octane. On the other hand, you won't loose anything by going to a bit higher octane. I prefer non ethanol fuels as they store better but run whatever you have available. I usually use 92 - 93 octane recreation fuel available at marinas and some gas stations depending on your area. Use a premium synthetic oil from day one and Red Line racing oil is very popular. This is the oil recommended by DA so that should be a good endorsement. Mix ratios from 30:1 to 40:1 are common but I use 32:1 as that is exactly 4oz of oil per gallon of gas. Easy to remember and I see no advantage to using less oil except maybe a bit of cost.