Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Prop shaft wobble

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2019, 02:40 AM
EF

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Prop shaft wobble

I have a 26cc “Zenoah copy” - a QJ engine brand new never run.

I noticed after installing it on a test bench and securing the prop, that when I turn it the front end of the prop shaft seems to wobble off center.
I’d say the wobble is about 1/16”.

This is my first gas engine and I have no idea if this is common or how critical is it.

I have about 45 years experience with glow engines and have never come across this kind of thing.

Would appreciate advice from the more experienced...
TIA
Old 11-25-2019, 05:08 AM
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts

Define "wobble" please. I'm not sure if you are talking about sloppy bearings, what appears to be a bent crank, or something else.
Old 11-25-2019, 05:20 AM
EF

Bearings are new, engine is new, it’s as if the shaft is slightly bent from the factory.

Maybe I should have written ‘crooked shaft’...

Last edited by EF; 11-25-2019 at 05:47 AM.
Old 11-25-2019, 08:43 AM
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)

Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts

Excessive prop shaft or hub wobble / runout isn't normal and should be corrected. Some (few) engine types will have a bit of endplay and if the design permits, this can be normal.