Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

No fuel to DLE30

Old 12-14-2019, 12:39 PM
  #1  
BOB275
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: PHOENIX, AZ
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No fuel to DLE30

Got the DLE30 out of storage and hook up a 8 oz tank and got it running and tuned up fine.
Ready to fly, so I grab the 12 oz tank and I could not get fuel to the DLE30! No leaks in tank/pressurize it. NEW!
Going from an 8 oz tank to 12 oz, what happen? I thought the Walbro carb wasn't sucking/pumping the fuel up.
Change out the blue screen to a beige one and the fuel pump diaphragm.
Any one had a problem like this and a solution????? Bob

Old 12-14-2019, 01:50 PM
  #2  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,746
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Are you sure it's fuel and not spark causing your issue? What happens when you prime it?
Old 12-15-2019, 08:27 AM
  #3  
BOB275
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: PHOENIX, AZ
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

NO PROBLEM WITH spark. We installed a spinner and used the electric starter and it started right up. Hand priming it is not pumping the fuel fast enough.
Old 12-15-2019, 11:40 AM
  #4  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 5,014
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Getting fuel to the engine is more a function of how well the choke works than the pump. After the engine starts the pump will provide the necessary fuel volume and pressure to keep the engine running. I'd make sure the choke plate is fully closed and if it is even a tiny bit open, its not a choke. If both fuel tanks are in good condition, there should be zero difference between your two fuel tank sizes so that should be a non issue. Reeds can also cause starting problems and you can check them simply by removing the spark plug and confirming the engine has normal port bypass operation when the engine is cranked. Certainly a visual inspection can't hurt anything if you suspect there is a problem. People make way too much out of whether reeds seal completely when they are at rest. It is normal for an in service reed to hang open slightly yet they can work properly with normal airflow / crankcase differential pressure.
Old 12-15-2019, 01:55 PM
  #5  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,746
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

And speaking of chokes, there's an outside chance that the choke plate isn't centered in the barrel properly. Can happen right from new, or it's not unheard of for the single screw that hold it in place to loosen slightly, causing the plate to rattle itself off center.

Too, some will poo poo the idea of soldering the hole in the choke plate shut. It does help.
Old 12-15-2019, 02:09 PM
  #6  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 5,014
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ahicks View Post
And speaking of chokes, there's an outside chance that the choke plate isn't centered in the barrel properly. Can happen right from new, or it's not unheard of for the single screw that hold it in place to loosen slightly, causing the plate to rattle itself off center.

Too, some will poo poo the idea of soldering the hole in the choke plate shut. It does help.
I've soldered the hole in the choke plate shut on some of my smaller engines and in a few cases it worked too well resulting in over choking. My best solution has been to solder the hole shut then redrill a much smaller hole through the solder until a compromise size is found. 1/16" usually works pretty well.
Old 12-23-2019, 08:40 AM
  #7  
CK1
My Feedback: (60)
 
CK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,379
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Remove the inlet needle diaghragm cover and check the playability of the diaphragm and check the inlet needle . It may be stuck closed. If the needle won't open all the choking in the world won't help
Old 12-23-2019, 10:48 AM
  #8  
BOB275
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: PHOENIX, AZ
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

We have taken the carb off the plane and again inspect it, the choke, diaphrams, etc and had a flying buddy with a gas plane double check it.
Had to put a hold on this as the holiday and wx took up time. Later i'll get back to it.
I do thank you for your tips.
Old 12-24-2019, 01:45 PM
  #9  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 5,014
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Have you checked the screen inside the carb? Sometimes they can get a sort of clear coating on them that won't easily pass fuel. Almost impossible to clean, replacement is the normal fix and a new screen comes with every carb kit.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.