Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DLE-111 Ver 2 won't fire

Old 12-26-2019, 06:25 PM
  #1  
planenutzz
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 177
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DLE-111 Ver 2 won't fire

As the title states my DLE-111 won't fire. I had it running yesterday trying to tune the low needle and was doing a full throttle run, then back to idle. Engine quit and have not been able to start it since or even get a pop.

I have fuel through the carb, plugs were in fact wet when I pulled them out, they are NGK. I then put plugs back into the boots and rotated past the hall sensor, I get spark to both plugs but would not say it is super strong. Battery was freshly charged.

I then tried with one plug in the engine and one out with the plug in the boot and rotated past the sensor, plug out had spark but looks to me to be weak. Interestingly I got a slight kick from the other cylinder.

Can I assume hall pick up sensor is ok?
Can I assume the battery is ok? Reads 7.4v LiION pack.

Ignition module stuffed?


Last edited by planenutzz; 12-26-2019 at 08:24 PM.
Old 12-26-2019, 08:24 PM
  #2  
planenutzz
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 177
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Old 12-27-2019, 10:46 AM
  #3  
kmeyers
 
kmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 790
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

There is no easy answer. What pops into my head is operator error ( badly flooded not tuned well ). The plugs should not be wet. Should be a nice air fuel mixture in each cylinder. Starting and tuning are not always easy. From your description nothing seems wrong but the tune.

I don't know what you have available, Faced with this I would do the following:

1 remove the plugs and dry them
2 set each of the needles to 1 1/2
3 with the plugs out and ignition off and throttle wide open, spin the engine over with a starter or something ( any starter will spin a DLE 111 with the plugs out and no compression ) for 15 or 20 seconds to dry out the engine ( it will be well primed though).
4 replace everything and turn on everything with the throttle set at a high idle
5 try to start the engine No choke needed at this start
6 if engine starts and runs, re-tune high speed needle first
7 then the low speed needle

hope you find this useful no insult intended

Last edited by kmeyers; 12-27-2019 at 10:56 AM.
Old 12-27-2019, 11:02 AM
  #4  
kmeyers
 
kmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 790
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

One thing else 7.4 V for 2s Lion is less than 40% charged. I would think that it should have plenty for running the engine.
Old 12-27-2019, 02:05 PM
  #5  
planenutzz
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 177
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

These are the fromenco 7.4V packs, not the normal 7.6v LiION packs I tried it on 2 different packs, same result and reason for that will be apparent as you read further.

ok problem solved. Tuns out the timing ring had come loose, will need to reset the timing. I have the timing kit just have wrong piston stopper. Mine is for the smal glow plug sized heads not CM-6 size.

Reset timing yesterday just using a ball driver to feel for TDC, will re-check it this morning once some coffee kicks in.



Click image for larger version

Name:	2019-12-27_011828_timing_ring.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	83.5 KB
ID:	2265979


thanks for all the comments.
Old 12-30-2019, 10:56 AM
  #6  
kmeyers
 
kmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 790
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Great news. All my dle's are hall sensors screwed in place, I would have never guessed.
Old 12-30-2019, 02:06 PM
  #7  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,982
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by kmeyers View Post
Great news. All my dle's are hall sensors screwed in place, I would have never guessed.
👍 Nothing was said about an onboard starter.
Old 01-15-2020, 08:00 PM
  #8  
planenutzz
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 177
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Truckracer View Post
👍 Nothing was said about an onboard starter.
Need to know ;-)
Old 01-18-2020, 10:55 AM
  #9  
kmeyers
 
kmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 790
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ah yea, the DLE magnet is drilled and fixed via key in the hub to the crank . No timing ring.
Seems your magnet is not this simple stock set up. Your timing ring is after market.

Last edited by kmeyers; 01-18-2020 at 11:01 AM.
Old 01-18-2020, 11:46 AM
  #10  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,982
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by planenutzz View Post
Need to know ;-)
Well yes, there was a need to know. Answers are usually only as good as the accuracy of the question and the information provided. Oh well, at least it is OK now.
Old 01-19-2020, 05:14 PM
  #11  
planenutzz
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 177
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Tuning has been sorted finally, turns out the bottom end was way too lean.

As for the previous I take forum responses with a grain of salt. Whatever!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.