Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

Pump location OS GGT 15 cc gas glow engine.

Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Pump location OS GGT 15 cc gas glow engine.

Old 02-27-2021, 02:33 PM
  #1  
Toothsome
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pump location OS GGT 15 cc gas glow engine.

Can't quit figure this out. It looks like other's photos show the PD-08 pump attached to the back cover plate. The manual says nothing about that. It suggests to place the pump behind the firewall cushioned with foam. The back cover plate looks to be the logical place for the pump but the openings for the presumed screws are not tapped. What's up with that? Is OS intimating that is not a good idea? I can't find chatter on this anywhere on the internet. Am I the only person in the world asking this question??
Old 03-02-2021, 09:44 AM
  #2  
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)
 
daveopam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ELK CITY, OK
Posts: 7,681
Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

I looked at the manual on line. It looks like the pump goes into the back cover. Not enough detail to show the attachment. Maybe you can post some pics?

davif
Old 03-19-2021, 01:38 AM
  #3  
Toothsome
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Well the manual is fuzzy on this. The back cover on this engine is not specific to just this GAS engine. I think it not wise to attach the pump to the back cover because gasoline increases the temperature of the engine which could be detrimental to the plastic/polymer pump. Hence the reason they talk about remoting the pump away from the engine. What got me confused was the video of Brian Winch testing this engine with the pump attached to the back cover of the engine......but then again that set-up was on a test stand and not buried in a cowl.
Old 03-19-2021, 09:26 AM
  #4  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 5,126
Likes: 0
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

OS has produced a number of engines where the pump was mounted in the backplate then in later updates of the same engine, the pump was moved to a remote location. I assume that is the case here.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.