Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

DLE 20ra goes from Idle to full rpm in 1/4 throw of throttle arm.

Community
Search
Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DLE 20ra goes from Idle to full rpm in 1/4 throw of throttle arm.

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2021, 02:34 PM
winggo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DLE 20ra goes from Idle to full rpm in 1/4 throw of throttle arm.

I am new to gas engines and just put a DLE 20ra on my Citabria Pro. I've been able to get it running after about two weeks of fiddling with it, but now it will idle OK but when I increase throttle a tiny bit it jumps immediatly to full rpms. The throttle arm on the carb is moving less that 1/4 of it's full travel. I have only run about two tanks so far but I am afraid of over reving the engine if I am not careful.
Old 04-15-2021, 04:30 AM
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts

1st, there's no need to be concerned about over revving if you have the right size prop on it. A Citabria Pro should work pretty good on a 17x6. That's the easy part of your question.

The other piece, where the throttle stick is acting like an on/off switch, is about your throttle linkage. Going into this it helps to know that a butterfly type carb, on ANYTHING, is pretty much done making power at about 60% open. Beyond 60% there's very little left. The 60% figure is not exact, but it's close enough here. Why that is, or whether or not it is, are both topics for a different conversation.