Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

GAS ENGINES AND HIGH OCTANE FUELS

Old 10-25-2004, 04:43 PM
RustyTumbles

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GAS ENGINES AND HIGH OCTANE FUELS

I am new to gas and I was wondering if these gas engines make for power on higher octance fuel? I have read that some people use standard unleaded which is around 85-87 RON depending on where you live and what brand fuel it is. If I was to use a high octane fuel like BP ultimate or shell optimax in my zenoah will I get a good power gain? It seems to work in my car!!! Also is it possible to up the octane by adding octane booster without hurting the engine.
Old 10-25-2004, 05:54 PM
ptgarcia
My Feedback: (36)

Default RE: GAS ENGINES AND HIGH OCTANE FUELS

Octane alone has no effect on power unless other things are done to take advantage of the higher rating (such as advancing the timing or raising compression ratio). You should run the lowest octane your engine, prop and plane combination will tolerate before detonation occurs. I run all my gasoline engines on 87 octane and Amsoil 100:1 mixed at 80:1 with good results.
Old 10-25-2004, 07:17 PM
tango28charlie