Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

Has anyone used 100LL avgas in their airplane engines?

Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Has anyone used 100LL avgas in their airplane engines?

Old 09-13-2005, 08:51 PM
rtn9105
My Feedback: (35)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Has anyone used 100LL avgas in their airplane engines?

I'm pretty new to gas engines and I was wondering if using 100LL avgas in my ZDZ 40 will hurt the engine?
I'm not trying to get more performance out of the engine, I would like to use the avgas because I have to transport my airplanes to the flying field inside my SUV and the avgas doesn't have the bad smell that you get from the pump gas, if you get any on your hands as soon as it's evaporated the smell is gone from your skin, and it doesn't go bad if you leave it sit in the can for a few weeks. I know the manufacture only recommends pump gas but does anyone know if the avgas will hurt the engine?
Old 09-13-2005, 09:19 PM
brad59
My Feedback: (32)

Default RE: Has anyone used 100LL avgas in their airplane engines?

100 low lead actually has a lot of lead in it so it should help with internal lubrication. It is also much more stable than mogas so would be good for those of us who keep a can in the garage for six months. The increased octane will not help our engines unless you increase the compression ratio or increase the pressure of the fuel/air charge by supercharging. Avgas is around 50% toluene which is what they make plastic model airplane glue from. It may smell better but will give you a great headache if you get exposed for to long so beware.
Old 09-13-2005, 09:33 PM
3dbob37n

Understand that the higher the octane, the lower the burn rate. The leads slows down the burn rate and prevents knocking which can destroy a full scale aircraft engine.