Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

How to tune up needles from gas engine?

Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

How to tune up needles from gas engine?

Old 10-21-2007, 05:25 PM
  #1  
Ghostrider FIN
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oulu, FINLAND
Posts: 95
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to tune up needles from gas engine?

I got my first gas engines and i think i will test use them on bench. Do i adjust gasser carb like i adjust carb on nitro two stroke engine?

I dont know can i adjust gas mixtures with my ears like i do with my nitro two strokes.

Please advice how to do.

Old 10-21-2007, 07:21 PM
  #2  
krayzc-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to tune up needles from gas engine?

set the high end 1st for max RPM don't run it rich like a glow then work on the low needle to get a good transistion
Old 10-22-2007, 08:45 AM
  #3  
Ghostrider FIN
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oulu, FINLAND
Posts: 95
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to tune up needles from gas engine?

Ok thanks.

So i set peak rpm and let needle there and don´t turn back to rich little. And then good throtlle response/transition.

OK sounds easy, thanks again.
Old 10-22-2007, 08:57 AM
  #4  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 5,102
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default RE: How to tune up needles from gas engine?


ORIGINAL: Ghostrider FIN

I got my first gas engines and i think i will test use them on bench. Do i adjust gasser carb like i adjust carb on nitro two stroke engine?

I dont know can i adjust gas mixtures with my ears like i do with my nitro two strokes.

Please advice how to do.

Yes, you can tune by ear in most cases. Gassers will give you the same sounds you are use to with your glo engines. A tach is useful but not 100% necessary.
Old 10-22-2007, 09:29 AM
  #5  
krayzc-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to tune up needles from gas engine?

once you get the low set be sure to go back and double check the high as the needles works hand and hand together. The low should require very small moves at a time. I mean small like a screwdriver blade adjustment per run don't turn any needle aggressive. Take your time and kill the motor and re-adjust. Hit us up with any concerns...

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.