Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Old 08-24-2010, 10:24 AM
  #1001  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: milford, NJ
Posts: 171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

is there a trick to getting a new carb to pull fuel from the tank? even with the choke closed i don't seem to be pulling fuel.
can i pump fuel from my storage tank into the fuel nipple on the engine?
thanks,
bart
Old 08-24-2010, 11:43 AM
  #1002  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Hey Bart -

It is a new dry carb. I had the same problem the first time. You can try to prime it with some fuel straight to the carb as you suggested. That will help the suction. And then flip flip flip. You are probably at very LOW risk of flooding, so flip with prejudice

Once you get it going the first time, it is an EASY starting engine though
Old 08-24-2010, 01:46 PM
  #1003  
My Feedback: (1)
 
apalsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,306
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


ORIGINAL: barchiola

is there a trick to getting a new carb to pull fuel from the tank? even with the choke closed i don't seem to be pulling fuel.
can i pump fuel from my storage tank into the fuel nipple on the engine?
thanks,
bart
Bart,

This is relatively common with new carburettors. They are good at pumping gas but absolutely poor at pumping air

Pumping directly into the fuel nipple on the engine will not work because of the way the carburettor works.
You can squirt a bit of fuel into the throat of the carby - that might get it pumping. If that doesn't work, take the membrane cover of the carburettor (it's the one with a single big screw in the middle) and let the fuel seap in till it floods the membrane.
Just be very careful not to to dislodge the membrane when you put the cover back on. This will absolutely get the carby pumping
Old 08-24-2010, 02:00 PM
  #1004  
My Feedback: (23)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Columbia , MO
Posts: 102
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Hey,

I found that if you rock the prop back and forth real fast (BDC) between compression strokes that seemed to help my dry carb pump bring fuel to the carb.
Old 08-24-2010, 06:33 PM
  #1005  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: milford, NJ
Posts: 171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

thanks for the suggestions guys. i took some slack out of the fuel lines inside the plane and then had another go at it. after filling the tank i filled the fuel line from the carb back to the tank to purge the air, flipped the prop a few times with the choke closed, flipped a few more with ignition on then opened the choke when it kicked. it started and idled pretty well but needed to have the high end opened up a little to hold the top end. so far, so good. i'm hoping to fly it saturday and then enjoy it for years to come. the muffler i made isn't muffling very much but that's ok, airplane noise is good noise.
thanks again for the help.
bart
Old 08-25-2010, 08:53 AM
  #1006  
Senior Member
 
Tseres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: elwood, IN
Posts: 3,000
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


ORIGINAL: mjohnst3

Hey,

I found that if you rock the prop back and forth real fast (BDC) between compression strokes that seemed to help my dry carb pump bring fuel to the carb.

Ditto.

I also found this useful when I stick the plane on the shelf for a month and don't start it for a while.
Another thing that I noticed that if you leave some fuel in the overflow tube then it it is also harder to suck up the fuel to the carb. Once you start the engine then you don't have to worry about it till you let *** sit on the shelf for a while again.
Old 08-25-2010, 02:49 PM
  #1007  
My Feedback: (271)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sping Hill, FL
Posts: 141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Another thing that you guys can do is pull the plugs on a new engine and put a starter on the motors. This will help pull fuel into the carb once you have the fuel into the carb put the plugs back in and fire the motor up.
Old 08-27-2010, 08:57 PM
  #1008  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Selman, OK
Posts: 87
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

I finally got a chance to have a look and found what seems to be the lack of a retainer as you thought. I am going to try and post a picture on here, never done that before so bare with me. Take a look and tell me if I am looking at this correctly. Thanks all.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51400.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	93.8 KB
ID:	1491285  
Old 08-27-2010, 11:14 PM
  #1009  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Piston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 614
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Hey Mike
PM sent.....

Cheers
Henry
Old 08-28-2010, 02:25 PM
  #1010  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: milford, NJ
Posts: 171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

folks,
i was at the field with my akromaster/yda56 combo and i couldn't fly because my quick fueler was leaking badly. i'm going to scrap it and put a T in the clunk line from the tank to the carb and use a fuel dot to fill. does the throttle have to be pulled all the way back to idle cutoff to keep fuel from getting into the carb when i'm filling up the tank?
maybe i'll fly tomorrow if i can sneak out after pee-wee football.
bart
Old 08-28-2010, 03:03 PM
  #1011  
My Feedback: (16)
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,576
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

No
Old 08-28-2010, 10:39 PM
  #1012  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Super08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fort McMurray, AB, CANADA
Posts: 4,121
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

The fuel will not flow into the engine unless you can develop more pressure than what the pop off pressure is set at when you are pumping in the fuel. This is something which shouldn't happen.
Old 08-29-2010, 05:35 PM
  #1013  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: milford, NJ
Posts: 171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

the new yda56 ran great and i had the immense pleasure of finally flying my new plane.
thanks for the help,
bart
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay73419.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	165.5 KB
ID:	1492140   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ws56805.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	180.9 KB
ID:	1492141  
Old 08-29-2010, 08:27 PM
  #1014  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 381
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Henry,
Any new news on the engines? Still waiting patiently for the 38. I saw that you took the planes link from your site. Hope everything is going OK.
Stangevil29
Old 08-29-2010, 10:03 PM
  #1015  
Senior Member
 
Tseres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: elwood, IN
Posts: 3,000
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

I got my engine mounted on the Sboch but I have some clearance issues with the pitts muffler on the front of the cowl. I'll hack it off and weld it up tomorrow and post some finished pictures for you.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ro41837.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	105.4 KB
ID:	1492339   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zu66065.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	99.3 KB
ID:	1492340  
Old 08-29-2010, 11:13 PM
  #1016  
Senior Member
 
fhm101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pinson, AL
Posts: 2,487
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

I like the choke lever mount/brace.

Old 08-30-2010, 07:46 AM
  #1017  
Senior Member
 
Tseres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: elwood, IN
Posts: 3,000
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


ORIGINAL: fhm101

I like the choke lever mount/brace.

Thanks. Here are a few pictures on the way it works. It is spring loaded so you just push on it and lick it in with the throttle.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn37958.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	78.2 KB
ID:	1492513   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zu64737.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	67.3 KB
ID:	1492514   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ty65796.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	70.4 KB
ID:	1492515   Click image for larger version

Name:	At54664.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	51.1 KB
ID:	1492516  
Old 08-30-2010, 08:32 AM
  #1018  
Senior Member
 
fhm101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pinson, AL
Posts: 2,487
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

The way it ties the upper and lower engine mount together it looks like it might offer some additional strength to the mount as well.
Old 08-30-2010, 09:37 AM
  #1019  
My Feedback: (271)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sping Hill, FL
Posts: 141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Very Nice install Tom. What did you use to make the choke mount. Also did you make those standoff or buy them somewhere.
Old 08-30-2010, 11:25 AM
  #1020  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Tom was away for a while....I knew he had to be up to something.
Old 08-30-2010, 01:27 PM
  #1021  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: milford, NJ
Posts: 171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

steve,
would you happen to have a spare 56cc prop hub laying around? i stripped one of the bolt holes on mine. it's aluminum, no?
thanks,
bart
Old 08-30-2010, 01:48 PM
  #1022  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (23)
 
FLPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Punta Gorda, FL
Posts: 313
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Use one of these to install props.

Wood 50-55 inch ounces.

Composite 65 inch ounces.

http://www.harborfreight.com/1-4-qua...ench-2696.html

Comes in a red heavy duty case. Fits in my gasser field box.

You will not regret the purchase. Very nice for the price.



Old 08-30-2010, 02:00 PM
  #1023  
My Feedback: (1)
 
apalsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,306
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


ORIGINAL: barchiola

the new yda56 ran great and i had the immense pleasure of finally flying my new plane.
thanks for the help,
bart
Hi Bart,

I really like the look of your Akromaster.
Who makes those planes?
Old 08-30-2010, 04:32 PM
  #1024  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: milford, NJ
Posts: 171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


ORIGINAL: apalsson


ORIGINAL: barchiola

the new yda56 ran great and i had the immense pleasure of finally flying my new plane.
thanks for the help,
bart
Hi Bart,

I really like the look of your Akromaster.
Who makes those planes?

thanks! it was made from an Air Tech kit in the early eighties. i bought it off of craigslist and recovered it. i haven't seen any other kits in over a year since buying this built up example. it flies really nicely, i'm very happy with it.
bart

Old 08-30-2010, 04:47 PM
  #1025  
Senior Member
 
Tseres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: elwood, IN
Posts: 3,000
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


ORIGINAL: plane addicts

Very Nice install Tom. What did you use to make the choke mount. Also did you make those standoff or buy them somewhere.
I used some Aluminum flat stock from the hardware store. Shaped it with a belt sander.
The standoffs came from my 26 that was in a box on the bench. They were longer then the ones that came with it. I needed 3 1/4" long. These were just over 2 3/4". 1/2" spacer made from Ply made them the perfect length.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.