Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Old 04-26-2013, 05:02 PM
  #2401  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Auburn, GA
Posts: 1,369
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

We are getting a little difference on them, I am measuring the holes with no bolts in them.

Two holes next to cylinder 2.65"
bottom, side to side2.040
top to bottom 1.875

So I do not know if it will work or not, I know for sure the cylinder bolt pattern is the same.

Milton
Old 04-26-2013, 05:04 PM
  #2402  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Auburn, GA
Posts: 1,369
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Did you use washer to build in right thrust.

Milton
Old 04-26-2013, 05:16 PM
  #2403  
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

I double checked my dimensions and they were correct. The difference would not work.

I did not use a washer to set right thrust. I set 1.5 deg in the firewall when I built the plane so I could set the engine straight on the firewall. I do not like to shim engines.

I may try to get the lug welded back to the case. I know a guy who is an excellent aluminum welder.

Thanks!!
Anthony
Old 04-27-2013, 11:01 AM
  #2404  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: hastings, MN
Posts: 5,953
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


Waconut

I would pull the case so when it is welded you can keep a wet rag arrowand the bearings to keep from damaging the seals or just pull the bearings.

Do you have any RPM readings on your engine and what props are you using ?

Cheers Bob T
Old 04-27-2013, 12:56 PM
  #2405  
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

I can't remember what I was getting on the engine.
I had a 24x6 prop on and it flew the Cub really well. When I broke that prop I put a 22x8 and it seems under propped. I will get some RPM readings soon.

I do have a NIB YDA-56 as well. I will mount that on the Cub and play around with reparing the other engine later. Flying weather is here and it is time to fly.
Later!!
Anthony
Old 04-27-2013, 04:19 PM
  #2406  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: hastings, MN
Posts: 5,953
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines



Ya the weather hear has finaly turned spring so flying is now # 1 but I watch the threads while fixing dinner

Cheers Bob T
Old 05-05-2013, 12:57 PM
  #2407  
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Bob,
With a 22x8 Xoar prop I am getting 6,200 RPM. This is on a fresh engine running 93oct gas with a 32:1 oil mix. I suspect it will gain power as it breaks in. I have also ordered rings from Frank Bowman for both of my YDA engines.

Later!!
Anthony
Old 05-05-2013, 04:41 PM
  #2408  
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,839
Received 33 Likes on 32 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


ORIGINAL: WacoNut

Bob,
With a 22x8 Xoar prop I am getting 6,200 RPM. This is on a fresh engine running 93oct gas with a 32:1 oil mix. I suspect it will gain power as it breaks in. I have also ordered rings from Frank Bowman for both of my YDA engines.

Later!!
Anthony

Anthony,

Any luck with a replacement engine case from down under ??

Karol
Old 05-05-2013, 05:31 PM
  #2409  
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Not yet,
I exchanged e-mails and it should be on it's way.
Thanks!!
Anthony
Old 05-06-2013, 11:57 AM
  #2410  
MTK
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Whippany, NJ
Posts: 5,386
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines


ORIGINAL: WacoNut

I double checked my dimensions and they were correct. The difference would not work.

I did not use a washer to set right thrust. I set 1.5 deg in the firewall when I built the plane so I could set the engine straight on the firewall. I do not like to shim engines.

I may try to get the lug welded back to the case. I know a guy who is an excellent aluminum welder.

Thanks!!
Anthony
Anthony,

Let me suggest that you try something first before disassembly and welding steps.

You may be able to simply add a tab in place of the broken one. This is nothing more than a piece of aircraft aluminum sheet, cut and shaped to be similar to the lost tab. Install it with the crankcase bolt. Thickness doesn't need to be more than 1/8" for T6 tempered aluminum. One stand off will need to be shortened to accomodate

Many years ago we routinely added mounting tabs on our 60's holding the engine by its rear cover to soft mount them on Lord rubber isolators. A 10cc glow is no 50cc gasoline by any stretch, but might be worth the experiment
Old 05-06-2013, 01:43 PM
  #2411  
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Thanks for the tip,
I have located the elusive back cover and it should be coming to me in the mail in the next week or so.

I showed the guys the broken cover in the tool room at work and they think they can weld it and worst case make a new one. One of the great things about working in a machine shop.
Later!!
Anthony
Old 06-09-2013, 04:43 PM
  #2412  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: wilmington, MA
Posts: 829
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

i have a jc 28 running lousy..tuned as normal but this time i found both needles open 2 turns rich. i tried a brand new carb but got same results. anybody got a theory ?

Old 06-09-2013, 05:06 PM
  #2413  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Saint- JEROME, QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,226
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Hi
Yep ,...................... makes a great paper weight ,...........
Old 06-09-2013, 05:27 PM
  #2414  
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,839
Received 33 Likes on 32 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Really nice looking engines but really lousy runners
Old 06-09-2013, 06:36 PM
  #2415  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Egg Harbor City, NJ
Posts: 774
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Look for air leaks,crank case gaskets,cylinder base gasket,etc..
Old 06-10-2013, 06:04 AM
  #2416  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: wilmington, MA
Posts: 829
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

skip ......thank you ! engine used to run great with needles closed to normal position. i think you have pointed to the right track....................laryboy
Old 06-10-2013, 03:17 PM
  #2417  
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: MIDLAND, TX
Posts: 473
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Check your reed and block gaskets you may have a crack or reed not sealing
Old 06-14-2013, 02:41 AM
  #2418  
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 47
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Aerogasrc.com is the west coast distributor for JC engine. We are a authorized warranty/service center. Current engines are 23cc 3.5 Hp, 30cc 4.0 Hp, 60cc 6 hp,120cc twin 12.5Hp, Available Mid July new 30cc twin, Specs will be released soon. We stock all parts for JC engine. we stock Xoar, Falcon propellers, Hitec servos, Klotz oil products, Affordable fuel cans, please see our website for more information <a href="www.aerogasrc.com">www.aerogasrc.com
</a>
Old 06-23-2013, 01:51 PM
  #2419  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: hastings, MN
Posts: 5,953
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

I have a YDA-56A installed in a Weeks Special, with a wieght of 20 1/4 lbs and I am guestioning the engine preformance it has about 3 hrs run time on it, Fuel is 100 ave gas at 50:1 klutz model 2cycle oil Xoar props tested again was a 20 X 10 RPM 5850 next was a 18 X 10 6870 The bird flies OK once it is up on the step but visibly slower on the 20 inch prop

I have been told this engine was not designed for hi RPM's, but alot of torque, So the question is wich way to go with the props ?

Cheers Bob T
Old 06-23-2013, 02:08 PM
  #2420  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,398
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Isn't the Weeks a bi-plane? If so that means drag and a slower flier so my thought is that torque is wanted as in longer and shallower pitch. I don't go above 6 pitch when wanting torque and in some cases less than 6.
Old 06-23-2013, 06:33 PM
  #2421  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: hastings, MN
Posts: 5,953
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines



Hi AA5by

Will give your suggestion a go, and will post what I find, don't get a day off till late next week.

Cheers Bob T
Old 06-26-2013, 05:32 AM
  #2422  
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

I have a YDA-56 engine actually 2 of them and they both have the same issue. They will not draw fuel to start the engine by hand. You must use an electric starter or shoot some gas into the carb to get it to fire up and draw fuel.
I have tried sanding the reed block and installed Frank Bowman rings and no luck. I have checked to make sure all the joints in the crankcase are properly sealed and the carb bolts are just snugged up to prevent distorting the reed gaskets. The engines really run well and power my 1/3 Cub very scale like. I am sure the issue resides in the reed block design. I was wondering if a DLE-50 reed block would bolt up to this engine and carb combination? If so I can order a reed block and reed for $15.
Any advice would be appreciated.
Anthony
Old 06-28-2013, 03:40 PM
  #2423  
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: hastings, MN
Posts: 5,953
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines



Waconut aka Anthony

Did you solder the hole in the choke plate shut ? thats what I did and it draws fuel just fine. my starting procedure is ign OFF choke ON 2 flips, ign ON choke still on flip till it pop's about 5 flips choke OFF 3 clicks of throutle and most allways 2 filps and it running. When the engine is hot no choke at all throutle cracked about 2 to 3 clicks, and mostly 3 to 5 flips and it is running. I think this engine is great in any bird under 15 lbs.

Hope this help
Old 07-07-2013, 09:38 AM
  #2424  
 
WacoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Blanchester, OH
Posts: 6,604
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

I did not solder the hole shut.
I am going to order a reed and reed block for a DLE-50 for the engine. This should resolve the problem. I have a DL-50 engine and I checked to make sure the reed block was the same thickness and the YDA block. Should bolt up just fine and not have to change my linkage. I will order one this week and post the results one I have it installed.

Later!!
Anthony
Old 07-07-2013, 10:00 AM
  #2425  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,398
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: RCAero JC Engines & YDA Engines

Anthony... while I can't speak to your engine precisely, I can say that I've had to solder the choke hole closed on several engines as they would not draw a prime without doing so. Once soldered closed, they had no problem drawing a prime... so the advice given to solder the choke closed was likely very good advice and could save you problems and expense. Plus, it is very easy to do. The choke butterfly does not need to be removed from most engines to do it. Simply buff the hole area with a dremel with wire or bristle wheel and solder in place. Piece of cake.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.