Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Hangar 9 Beast

Old 10-20-2011, 12:30 PM
  #51  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

The wheels and wheel pants are on. Just as a note the measurements in the manual for the placement of the wheel collars are wrong. Not a big deal. The wheel pants really look nice on the plane.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq48296.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	106.0 KB
ID:	1676880  
Old 10-21-2011, 10:44 AM
  #52  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Marysville, CA
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

Would like to know about the plane stand.
Old 10-21-2011, 11:16 AM
  #53  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

Here you go for the stand. Its great! Lots of adjustments. You can raise, lower and tilt the plane.


http://www.rcairplanestands.com/1.html
Old 10-21-2011, 11:28 AM
  #54  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

Davidgeorge, where did you mount your batteries?
Old 10-21-2011, 12:52 PM
  #55  
 
davidgeorge212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Trussville, AL
Posts: 1,561
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast


ORIGINAL: Hill202

Davidgeorge, where did you mount your batteries?
I was sort of surpised to see where the manual tell you to put them, way in the back under the turtle deck. I started out putting the batteries toards the very back and on to of the center muffler tunnel. When I tried balancing the plane there it was really tail heavy. I ended up pushing my two batteries all the way up to the front of the center section. They are under the section where the removable canopy is but pushed all the way up to front in there (on top of the muffler tunnel). My ignition battery is up in the front where the motor is.


David
Old 10-21-2011, 12:53 PM
  #56  
 
davidgeorge212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Trussville, AL
Posts: 1,561
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

I will try and post a picture of how I have the inside of mine setup tonight.
Old 10-21-2011, 01:05 PM
  #57  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

ORIGINAL: davidgeorge212

I will try and post a picture of how I have the inside of mine setup tonight.
That would be great! The picture would probably save you from some of my questions

Thanks
Old 10-21-2011, 01:15 PM
  #58  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

Throttle servo and linkage. The throttle servo mounts on the bottom of the plane. It's a straight shot to the throttle arm and I still managed to get a bend in the nyrod . It seems to operate smooth though. The servo is a Futaba 3050. I did glass the area around where the servo mounts, it seemed a little weak.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv63807.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	71.6 KB
ID:	1677223  
Old 10-21-2011, 01:18 PM
  #59  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

The mufflers arrived damaged. So thats going to delay things a few days. I'm working on the wings now so I can try to figure out the balance on this thing. 63mm from the leading edge of the bottom wing?!?? I thought that was kinda strange.

Davidgeorge, your picture will be alot of help!
Old 10-21-2011, 02:28 PM
  #60  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

Following the manual, this is how the alieron linkage will end up looking.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx70626.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	43.8 KB
ID:	1677249   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up47049.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	51.8 KB
ID:	1677250  
Old 10-21-2011, 02:54 PM
  #61  
 
davidgeorge212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Trussville, AL
Posts: 1,561
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

Here are just a bunch of random photos of how I have things setup. A couple of highlights I will point out, I did go with springs on my tail wheel. I have my smoke oil tank on the top (which is 32 oz.) and my gas tank on the bottom (which is also 32oz.) Off to the side of the tanks is my smoke pump and battery. It is a really tight fit when you go and try to strap things down in there. One thing you may or may not be able to notice is that on my rear cabane struts, I have my servo extension cables running up (on the inside) to the top center section wing and they stick out the holes at the top. You cant see the servo wire because I took a peice of black shrink tubing and slid it over the cabane strut and ran the extension through the shrink tubing and then I shrunk it tight. It sort of hides the ugly wires going up to the top wing. When I installed my throtle linkage, I had that same little bend in the push rod tubing as well (as seen in one of the photos). If you have a question on someting else you see in one of the photos you can just ask me.


David
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94063.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	105.2 KB
ID:	1677255   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ie98265.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	1677256   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ty65793.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	95.9 KB
ID:	1677257   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pj18625.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	62.6 KB
ID:	1677258   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rc42035.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	70.2 KB
ID:	1677259   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gx30958.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	77.2 KB
ID:	1677260   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jl94497.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	91.0 KB
ID:	1677261   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wv72469.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	89.8 KB
ID:	1677262  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Cb54308.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	97.0 KB
ID:	1677263   Click image for larger version

Name:	Co71731.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	98.5 KB
ID:	1677264   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lr74953.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	109.8 KB
ID:	1677265   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fp67018.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	86.4 KB
ID:	1677266  
Old 10-21-2011, 03:01 PM
  #62  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

Thats a lot of help, thanks. The battery placement as per the manual is way wrong. Did your aileron linkage look like the pic I posted?
Old 10-21-2011, 03:08 PM
  #63  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

Do you have extensions on the battery leads going back to the switches?
Old 10-21-2011, 03:12 PM
  #64  
 
davidgeorge212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Trussville, AL
Posts: 1,561
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

Ya, thats pretty much the way my aileorn linkages look. Mine do not have as big of an angle of the pushrod from the arm to the control horn, but that is because I am using smaller arms. I am using the stock servo arm that comes with the Hitec 7955 servo.
Old 10-21-2011, 03:18 PM
  #65  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

I don't know why the manual calls for 1.5 arms.

Based on your pics this is probably the way mine will be set-up. I am going to plug the batteries directly into the board and use the failsafe pin switch.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj22796.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	111.0 KB
ID:	1677276  
Old 10-21-2011, 03:18 PM
  #66  
 
davidgeorge212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Trussville, AL
Posts: 1,561
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast


ORIGINAL: Hill202

Do you have extensions on the battery leads going back to the switches?
Yes. I installed the swithes where the manual shows because thats where they had the batteries. Now after the fact, I find out that the batteries had to come all the way forward to balance the plane so I did solder extensions in so the batteries could reach the switch. I didnt want to move the switches after all that so I left them where they were.
Old 10-21-2011, 05:02 PM
  #67  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

The mufflers I ordered were from RC Extreme Power. They were half the cost of the DA mufflers. They were also very lightweight material. One was dented and bent when it arrived and the box was not crushed. I hope they will do the job. The new ones should be here in a few days.
Old 10-21-2011, 06:32 PM
  #68  
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: walla walla, WA
Posts: 732
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

Looks nice.. This plane is essentially the same as a QQ Python with some minor mods to the wings. Mine came in at 26lb wet with a da85 and a mtw 110 can.. My batteries are up on the tray next to the rudder servo and it balanced out perfect. I have my throttle servo mounted on the top of the pipe tunnel just aft of the fuel tank.. I don't like putting the throttle servo that close to the firewall after having a few failuers.. Keep at it!
Old 10-22-2011, 01:22 AM
  #69  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast


ORIGINAL: 2walla

Looks nice.. This plane is essentially the same as a QQ Python with some minor mods to the wings. Mine came in at 26lb wet with a da85 and a mtw 110 can.. My batteries are up on the tray next to the rudder servo and it balanced out perfect. I have my throttle servo mounted on the top of the pipe tunnel just aft of the fuel tank.. I don't like putting the throttle servo that close to the firewall after having a few failuers.. Keep at it!

Thanks. Today, I should be able to figure out where my batteries will mount.
Old 10-22-2011, 02:05 AM
  #70  
Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 45
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

David,

I just bought my first LiFE batteries, and I noticed you have something plugged into the balance connector on yours. Are those balancers, or something else?

Thanks!

Byron
Old 10-22-2011, 05:16 AM
  #71  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

Preliminary balancing shows tail heavy, pretty bad too. Thats with the batteries pushed forward next to the tank tray. That was with a fairly small ignition battery ( 6v 1650 nimh) I intend on using a larger one but at this point it would have to be a real heavy ignition battery to balance. I think I'll contact Smartfly and see if I can exchange these 2300 a123 batts for larger ones.

David, I think that smoke system is the difference in the balance between our planes.
Old 10-22-2011, 05:48 AM
  #72  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast


ORIGINAL: 2walla

Looks nice.. This plane is essentially the same as a QQ Python with some minor mods to the wings. Mine came in at 26lb wet with a da85 and a mtw 110 can.. My batteries are up on the tray next to the rudder servo and it balanced out perfect. I have my throttle servo mounted on the top of the pipe tunnel just aft of the fuel tank.. I don't like putting the throttle servo that close to the firewall after having a few failuers.. Keep at it!
What size igntion battery are you using? I guess the MTW can is making a difference. If I put my batteries next to the rudder servo, I'd be real tail heavy.

I think I am going to move the rx batteries up on top of the gas tank tray. I have some room there using that fortitude tank. Then I'll put a beefy ignition battery up front.
Old 10-22-2011, 05:49 AM
  #73  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast

The wings are finished. I know I said it before but these wing tubes are tight!!! They do not seem to be loosening up much.
Old 10-22-2011, 11:20 AM
  #74  
 
davidgeorge212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Trussville, AL
Posts: 1,561
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast


ORIGINAL: BGCombs

David,

I just bought my first LiFE batteries, and I noticed you have something plugged into the balance connector on yours. Are those balancers, or something else?

Thanks!

Byron

Yes, I have fromeco on board balancers pluged into both of my LiFe batteries. I was having problems with them puffing up when I was charging and balancing with my old charger. I replaced the batteries several differnt times because they kept puffing up. Now that I have these on board balancers on there, I can charge the batteries in the plane and they will balance themselves. Before I had to take them out of the plane to balance charge them. Now they can just stay in there. Ever since, I have not had them puff up on me.
Old 10-22-2011, 11:28 AM
  #75  
 
davidgeorge212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Trussville, AL
Posts: 1,561
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 Beast


ORIGINAL: Hill202

Preliminary balancing shows tail heavy, pretty bad too. Thats with the batteries pushed forward next to the tank tray. That was with a fairly small ignition battery ( 6v 1650 nimh) I intend on using a larger one but at this point it would have to be a real heavy ignition battery to balance. I think I'll contact Smartfly and see if I can exchange these 2300 a123 batts for larger ones.

David, I think that smoke system is the difference in the balance between our planes.

The manual, I think has several different things placed to far back for balance. It took some major moving around of things before mine would balance. I moved my ignition battery all the way up to the very front and of course the flight batteries had to come up. I dont know how you would ever balance the plane with the batteries as far back as the manual calls for. The weight of the smoke pump and extra tank is definitely adding more weight in front of the cg for me so if you dont have that weight, you will probably need to move your flight batteries even further forward. I would just say, dont permanantly mount anything yet until you have a better idea of where the balance needs to be.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.