Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

Rudder Servo Arms: 3" or 4" ?

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Rudder Servo Arms: 3" or 4" ?

Old 11-10-2011, 06:18 AM
  #1  
Capt Cash
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Capt Cash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rudder Servo Arms: 3" or 4" ?

I have a new Goldwing 30% MX2 I'm currently setting up. I'llbe doing mixed flyingalong with 3D so I'd like to getthe maximum rudder deflection. Servo is Hitec 7954.

It currently hasa 3" Hangar 9 rudder servo arm on the rudder servo and to getmax rudder deflection it's taking 140% endpoint travel which is the max on my transmitter settings. The cables are hooked on the rudder control horns at the closest point for max travel too. While this setup is showing to work fine, I've heard it is not good for the servoloading andlife expectancyto completely max out its travel range?

A 4" rudder arm seems like a better solution for a 30% plane of this type. Just wondering what most people use?

I found these arms which I may order: www.troybuiltmodels.com/items/SWBSAH4.html
Old 11-10-2011, 06:38 AM
  #2  
krayzc-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rudder Servo Arms: 3

I have used both my latest 2 -30% birds (EF Yak and 3d Slick ) use a 4.5" on pull pull. How wide is your end points on the rudder? If the 3" is working at 140 i do not see a need to change. I run all of my birds at 150 on all throws and just dial down the travel.
Old 11-10-2011, 04:03 PM
  #3  
sortegon
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mission, TX
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rudder Servo Arms: 3

To have a good geometry, your servo arm should match with the wide from point to point at the rudder.
Its the best to use the 140%endpoints. You take advantage of maximum resolution of ur servo.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.