Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

Quality of 30cc Troy Build Airplanes

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Quality of 30cc Troy Build Airplanes

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2015, 06:07 PM
dksnyder

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quality of 30cc Troy Build Airplanes

I am considering buying a 30cc airplane to power with an O.S. 1.60cu in glow motor which I have on hand.
Troy Built Models makes an attractive Yak 55...
TBM YAK-54 Scheme 5 30cc 71" Wingspan ARF
Does anyone have any opinions on the quality of TroyBuilt Models?
and, what do you think of using the O.S. 1.60 Glow motor in a 10 - 11 lb. airplane vs. the DLE 30cc gal engine?
I have no experience with gas motors, and I am nervous about having to learn a whole new power system.

Any info would be appreciated,
Thanks
Don
Old 07-08-2015, 04:39 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 346 Likes on 277 Posts

Don, gas motors aren't any more complicated than glow once you learn a few things and the cost and mess are way lower in that size especially in fuel costs.
Old 07-08-2015, 06:03 AM
MTK

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by dksnyder
I am considering buying a 30cc airplane to power with an O.S. 1.60cu in glow motor which I have on hand.
Troy Built Models makes an attractive Yak 55...
TBM YAK-54 Scheme 5 30cc 71" Wingspan ARF
Does anyone have any opinions on the quality of TroyBuilt Models?
and, what do you think of using the O.S. 1.60 Glow motor in a 10 - 11 lb. airplane vs. the DLE 30cc gal engine?
I have no experience with gas motors, and I am nervous about having to learn a whole new power system.

Any info would be appreciated,
Thanks
Don

The 1.60 has adequate power for the plane especially if you use a pipe on it and a larger prop such as the APC 18.1 x 10. On muffler, the 160 will turn an 18x8, 17x10