Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Are CA hinges OK?

Old 09-24-2004, 11:10 PM
  #1  
Furyflyer2
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (117)
 
Furyflyer2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: middlesex, NJ
Posts: 2,681
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are CA hinges OK?

I have a 33% aeroworks and it came with CA hinges is it OK to use them?
Old 09-26-2004, 12:03 PM
  #2  
Carroll-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (43)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texarkana, TX
Posts: 429
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Are CA hinges OK?

Paul, The hinges that came with the plane should be discarded. They're way too small for that size of plane. Use Robart hinge points or you can use the B&B large scale CA hinges spaced out every 3-4 inches with at least a 1/16 gap at the hinge line.
Carroll
Old 09-26-2004, 09:13 PM
  #3  
Furyflyer2
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (117)
 
Furyflyer2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: middlesex, NJ
Posts: 2,681
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Are CA hinges OK?

Where do you get those B&B CA hinges straight from B&B?
Old 09-27-2004, 08:13 AM
  #4  
Carroll-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (43)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texarkana, TX
Posts: 429
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Are CA hinges OK?

Paul, I buy all my supplies from Don's Hobby in Salina Kansas. 1-800-972-6273
You'll need foam friendly ca glue if the flying surfaces are foam sheeted.
Carroll
Old 11-11-2004, 01:33 AM
  #5  
Passport1
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,211
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Are CA hinges OK?

CA hinges are great for most applications, however i still have a hard time using them on planes that are 150CC size. If enough are used however they are fine.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.