Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

Nylon gear servos and single 50cc engine

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Nylon gear servos and single 50cc engine

Old 10-22-2004, 09:52 AM
computermonkey
My Feedback: (90)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Nylon gear servos and single 50cc engine

Would Nylon gear servos be safe to use on a single 50cc ZDZ50ng 87in wingspan plane. I was going to use Hitec 605bb on the wings and elevator and 4721 on the rudder. Thanks
Old 10-22-2004, 09:55 AM
fancman
My Feedback: (16)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Nylon gear servos and single 50cc engine

I wouldn't do it. No need to risk what must be a $1000.00 + airplane on cheap servo's.
Old 10-22-2004, 11:51 AM
Flying Cowboy

I've been running gas engines for 3 Years now and had no servo failure.

I'm running regular servos (Fut. 3004 or alike) with ball bearing everywhere except on the rudder where I put a high torque servo.
1 servo on each elevator and 1 servos on each ailerons 1 for the gas, one for the choke and a high torque for the rudder.

I'm running an Edge 540 with a Sach 50CC and make 3d with it and everything I can. I'm retired and I fly about 150 fly every year and as I said before, had no problems with servos.

I think peoples are on the safe side with the choice of torque in the servos.
Old 10-22-2004, 02:13 PM
computermonkey
My Feedback: (90)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Flying Cowboy, are your servos nylon geared or metal?
Old 10-22-2004, 02:21 PM
Flying Cowboy

Nylon gear.

I heard that metal gear get loose pretty fast but I never used any.
Old 10-22-2004, 02:36 PM
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)

For my flying, I need metal gear and at least 100 ounces. Right now I have 168 ounce 5645's on a 6 volt system on my 1/4 scale CAP232. I want extreme throws for 3D so the high torque is a must.