Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

Old 01-06-2005, 12:28 AM
  #1  
Pinhead159
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (33)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 723
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

I wouldn't recomend the e-flite 370 outrunner 1360kv w/ thunder power 2s 860 packs. I bought everything Horizon recomends for "High Performance" set up (see link Horizon Tensor High Performance )

I bought as they recommend:
370 outrunner 1360kv
10amp castle creations speed control
2 of the 2s 860mah thunder power packs (latest generation)
10 * 4.7 prop

On the first flight the speed control cut off within 30 seconds of launch. I was able to keep flying as long as i was below 1/2 throttle. I thought maybe the battery didn't get a good charge so i recharged it and flew with the second battery. It did the same thing causing a crash breaking the fuse in half behind the doublers.

Horizon recomends this as thier high performance set up yet if you set the everythign up per instructions of battery, esc, motor, prop, it is drawing around 9.5 amps and will cut the esc off within seconds.

the esc was set to a 6 volt cut off as the thunder power batteries instructions say 6.6 volts is the lower limit of the batteries. We ahve several other planes at the field with the 10amp esc and 860mah batteries set at 6volt cut off but they aren't pulling the kind of amps this recommended set up is pulling. This one pulling almost 10amps is pulling the voltage down to the cut off in no time if its anywhere above 3/4 throttle.

We pulled an in-line astro flight super whatt meter in between the battery and esc and on a fresh pack and the meter read 6.3 within about 3-5 seconds on their setup.

Was thinking abhout the funtana also but this is enough to just be discouraging.

Any Ideas on the situation or why Horizon would recommend this as the High Performance when it doesn't seem to work?

Any Help is welcome
Thanks
Chris
Old 01-06-2005, 01:57 AM
  #2  
Culverson
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Culverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Jasper, AL
Posts: 1,372
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

Try a 10x3.8 prop or 9x4.7, I believe theAPC 10x3.8 prop may be a much better solution, at WOT you may be pulling to many amps with the 10x4.7 (over propped) prop possibly and it may be exceeding the CC 10'...Call CCreations and talk to them as well as call HH support..They've been great help for sure as welll as George-MMcConville -Jason of HH....Could be a ESC issue...



Mine ran great with the 10x3.8 and CC 25 at the cost of a heavier ESC than the Eflite 20-CC10..
I'd call for techinal advice..
Old 01-06-2005, 08:56 AM
  #3  
YBLee
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Assonet, MA
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

Hi Culverson,

I assume you are using the 1360 Kv. Since you seem to be pretty knowledgable on this stuff and I'm very new to it, do you think it would be better for me to use the 1080Kv with either a 2 or 3 cell Lipo and the 10 x 4.7 prop? I do also have the CC-10 ESC and was considering the E-flite instead for this application on the Tensor. Any help on this combo?
Thx in advance,
Lee
Old 01-06-2005, 09:21 AM
  #4  
Culverson
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Culverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Jasper, AL
Posts: 1,372
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

EFLM1205 - Park 370 Outrunner 1360kv
APC 10x3.8 prop
2 cell 730-860 mAh packs

&

EFLM1200 - Park 370 Outrunner 1080kv
E-flite or APC 10x4.7
3 cell 730-860 mAh packs

I'd wait & see how George feels on this to make 100% sure its correct in what will work correctly....I'm fairly new also on the Tensor..[X(] LoL--Flew heli's longer, just use reccomended set-ups and I'd restrain using oversized props larger than reccomended..

I'm going to get the 2nd plane (Tensor) together when i'm up to it, and try a 1080Kv option also..

But remember the 1360 is a 2s motor..


Old 01-06-2005, 06:38 PM
  #5  
jason77
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Americus, GA
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

Dude, I have the same setup but use a 3 cell 11.1 volt 1320 mah thunder powder and it is awesome. I would use a three cell battery for sure. The Tensor 4D will hover and torque roll for 10 plus minutes with a 3 cell. This plane is Great, only turning at high speed is funky, you have to add rudder to make it turn and come back.
Old 01-06-2005, 06:56 PM
  #6  
Pinhead159
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (33)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 723
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

the 1360kv is not rated for 3 cell packs. the 1080kv motor is rated for 3cells.

Culverson, i was just using the original suggestions they recommend. This caused me to tear up the plane. i ahve the fuse almost glued back together but not sure if it'll be the same. i liked the way the plane flew the few flights i got b4 it hit.
chris
Old 01-06-2005, 09:38 PM
  #7  
jason77
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Americus, GA
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

The setup I have has not given me any problems. Even though I use a 3 cell, it is never at full throttle, but she will move when you tell her to. In windy hovering situations, the 3 cell with this motor which turns more RPM than the other one, really performs to bail you out of mistakes made inches from the ground. I have flown mine about 20-30 flights with the 3 cell, I plan to keep on going like that.
Old 01-07-2005, 04:18 AM
  #8  
derekandjennys
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: cedar rapids, IA
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

I have experienced the cutoff with pixie 20 on Nimh a couple years ago and Lipos on 1080kv AXI on a Hellraiser. Both went away after a dozen or so flights. The Apogee packs reccomend cycling at least 15 times at 1C before use. I believe they will increase in amp draw if broke in this way. Not stating as a fact but this is what I believe from what I have gathered thus far.

Also currently running 9x3.8 on the 1080 on a heavier plane. From what I have seen, the 1080 is the way to go unless you will be indoors more, with a low cieling. Really prefer a 340 3 cell right now. Will probably look for something in between the 340 and 830 to try on the Tensor. I read George is flying the 730 lately.We went with the 1080kv for the tensor also, and just in case have on hand 10x4.7, 10x3.8, and 9x3.8 props for the Tensor. Can't wait to try it.

Derek
Old 01-07-2005, 05:27 PM
  #9  
Culverson
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Culverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Jasper, AL
Posts: 1,372
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

Page 2 of the PDF has specs for the outrunners also..

[link]http://www.horizonhobby.com/ProdInfo/Files/efl-motors.pdf[/link]

Chris good luck on the repairs[8D]
I flew a Sig Fazer for year no crashes, had the tail cut off by a friend, then broke the wing sheeting picking it up..Nice covering gone bad there..
Old 02-27-2005, 04:14 PM
  #10  
harrymcwilliams
Member
 
harrymcwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

I've been flying my Tensor for a couple of months now using an E-flite 370 outrunner (1360kv) Thunderpower 2 cell 860mAh battery, APC 10x4.7 prop, Castle Creations Phoenix 10 ESC, Cirrus CS-4.4 Ultra Micro Servos, 4.4grams, 15.6oz-in torque, GWS R-4P Series II FM Pico Receiver - 4.9grams.
My Tensor weighs 8.9 oz's ready to fly.

I fly indoors and outdoors with no problems. No problems with the plane itself (floats like a feather on low throttle, does most 3d maneuvers, and many more that no other plane can perform, no problems with my power package (smooth, unlimited vertical power, hover's great at half throttle, 15 minute flight times), no problems with with my ESC (No cutting out, I have it setup to pluse power when low), no problems with my receiver (great range, no glitches), no problems with my servo's (very light, smooth, strong, ton's of throw, using the including long arm's, and faster than any I've used) and finally, no problems with my APC 10x4.7 prop (smooth as a baby's butt, no flexing and tough as nails).

My point is this. . . guys have throughout threads here, and rcgroups.com, dogged (not personally) everything I've used on my Tensor yet somehow my Tensor fly's great. Maybe I just got lucky. . .
I see guys complaining on other threads that their "Tensor fly's likes crap" and many others and I have to wonder??? Do they understand that the Tensor was made to fly different, do they know how to use a rudder, do they know how to build straight, do they know how to setup their gear?

Asking questions and giving advice is what I believe these forums are for. Slamming successful products because of their own inabilities is in my opinion, WRONG!

I love my Tensor, I thank George for the design, I thank E-flite for the kit, and Jason from E-flite for his involvement in the forums giving us tips, and answering questions.
Old 02-27-2005, 07:26 PM
  #11  
nate1001
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
nate1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

I had a problem with my setup too. 1360kv eflite motor 860 mah tp 2 cell jeti 18 amp. 10x4.7 gws. it pulsated at full throttle and no one knew why. I went to a 9x4.7 apc but I think the battery is fried because it will only hold full throttle for 5 secs before it starts pulsating and then the speed control cutsoff. It doesn't seem to have any capacity anymore
Old 05-03-2006, 12:19 PM
  #12  
acullen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Lenox, IL
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

i had the same setup, and the same problem untill i called horizon hobby and they helped me out. with the 1360kv motor and the thunder power 860mah battery, when you punch it to full throttle, the voltage drop is so drastic that the castle creations 10 thinks the pack is discharged. when you take the load off the battery, the voltage goes up and it is actually well above the 3.0 volt per cell safe cutoff limit. so what i did was set the speed controls' motor cutoff to 5 volts instead of 6. this way the speed control will cut off your motor when it is at 2.5 volts per cell under load. when you take off the load though, it is still above the 3.0 volt per cell limit, so your battery is not discharged too far. fortunately, i was able to land my plane successfully after the ESC cut my motor off 30 seconds into it's maiden flight. after changing the cutoff to 5 volts though, i get a good 10 to 15 minutes out of it depending on throttle usage.
Old 01-12-2008, 08:17 PM
  #13  
pvcwizard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sinclair, WY
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

I had a Tenso for about 6 months. I flew it with the recommended setup, NOT the high performance setup. It flew absolutely wonderful. I had a ball with it until an unbelievable wind at about 75 feet above the runway took it to never never land. I am looking at a new indoor plane now and am considering getting another Tensor.
Old 01-26-2008, 10:09 PM
  #14  
jimweda
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

I've heard that customer support was pretty good, but with my experience I have to say they didn't even have the courtesy to reply back. I had a motor mount break free while in flight. The prop chopped up the front end then the prop lodged itself into the wing. This was only my second flight. I wrote an e-mail and I haven't heard back from them since. I am very discouraged with them and am looking to other planes. You would think they would at least respond back.
Old 01-27-2008, 07:36 PM
  #15  
DRC1
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 481
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tensor 4d w/ 1360kv 370 outrunner problems

jimweda...

It might pay to make a call. I'm not loyal to any distributor, but I always seems to get reasonable results with a phone call...Often e-mails get lost in the suffle and don't get responses.

LLD

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.