Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

GiantScalePlanes - again

Old 01-16-2002, 08:12 PM
My Feedback: (6)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GiantScalePlanes - again

There's usually controversy when people post about this company's products/service. Since I'm working on their 35% Edge, and I've been flying their 30% Staud for 2 years, I thought I'd post my experiences.

30% Staud: I put up a comprehensive review at http://members.dca.net/mcquaide. Bottom line - the plane was built straight and strong. Good value. Heavy by IMAC standards but a good flyer and great to learn on, as it has no bad habits. Gets a lot of compliments at the field. Design 'borrowed' from the Aerocraft Staud.

35% Edge: Quite a different story.

On the plus side: Nice, very light design, typical ply fuse sides and integrated motor box. Light fiberglass gear. Nice wood quality. Lots of lightening holes. Good work on the sheeted foam parts. Light cored foam turtledeck. Nice fiberglass servo wire channels in wings/stabs. Stabs mount on an aluminum tube, making it possible to make them removeable.

On the minus side: Build quality is horrific - someone in China had a bad day the day this one was built, and there apparently is no QC inspection before they sell them. The firewall was installed crooked; I had to rebuild the whole motor box. Turns out this wasn't difficult, as it pulled apart with my bare hands with no damage to the fuse sides. The motorbox needed mods anyway to clear the muffler.

The whole rear fuselage was seriously curved. I had to tear it apart (again not hard to do), saw the fin away from the turtledeck, glue them back together straight, rip out/reinstall the last two fuse formers, and then rebuild. I now have a straight, strong fuse, but it took a lot of work to get there.