Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

New BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

New BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

Old 12-15-2007, 03:43 PM
  #776  
Steve
My Feedback: (54)
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ashton, ID
Posts: 2,311
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

I put a coreless on my throttle and it does make a differance. Its a lot better!!
Old 12-15-2007, 03:59 PM
  #777  
avatar71
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: e amherst, NY
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L


ORIGINAL: Steve

I put a coreless on my throttle and it does make a differance. Its a lot better!!
futaba s9001 be ok for the throttle and kill?
Old 12-15-2007, 05:00 PM
  #778  
jgraham10
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 342
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

You will not need a kill servo as the kill switch from smartfly goes between the battery and the ign. module and hooks to a channel in the reciever. I put mine on the landing gear switch and when I actuate the landing gear switch it turns off the power to the ign. module. That then shuts the engine down safely and easily.
You might be thinking of a choke servo which you can use and it can be any servo you want but is really not needed. There is a alternate method described in this thread or the other thread on how to setup the choke so it can be activated without a servo. It was a real easy setup using a servo arm screwed to the engine box and two pieces of wire. You either pushed it on or off. It was a real simple solution.

What radio are you using if it is a computerized unit you will not need the matchboxes just use the mixing in the radio to setup the servos.
Throttle servo is really up to you I ended up using a digital servo I had laying around.

Nothing wrong with MPI switches but I have read (this is my first gasser too) that they cannot handle the vibrations of a gasser and will fail.
I have MPI's on everyone of my glow airplanes and just love them but I went with a HD switch that NOBS batteries sells. CERMARK also makes a HD switch that will work too.

I ended up purchasing a Jersey Model fuler and one of their fuel dots. The nice thing about their fuel dot is that it is sealed until the other end makes connection so you have no leakage back after fueling. The fueler also has a second piece of hose that you hookup to the overflow/fuel vent line and that will allow you to capture the overflow in lieu of allowing it to spill on the ground. The valve is a little expensive but nice to have. Good quality stuff.
http://www.jerseymodeler.com/id29.html
If you watch for it on the unamed websites that feature giant scale aircraft you might find a discount or so from Jersey they do that once and awhile.
John

ORIGINAL: avatar71

I am making my list...

Engine DA50
Ignition adaptor DA50
Standoffs DA50
drill jig DA50
prop TBM 22x8
spinner truturn
muffler j-tec
kill switch smartfly
throttle servo ??
aileron servo x2 5955tg
elevator servo x2 5955tg
rudder servo 5955tg
kill servo ??
servo extensions
elevator servo arms airwild
rudder servo arm airwild
aileron servo arms airwild
fueler
gas line
batteries x3 TBM
miracle switch x3 MPI
carb plate TBM
Receiver JR
jr matchbox JR

not sure what else i should do...

an opinions? One of my bigger questions is what to use for a throttle and kill servo... Can I use a standard servo or do I have to go big on these too?
Old 12-15-2007, 05:04 PM
  #779  
Steve
My Feedback: (54)
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ashton, ID
Posts: 2,311
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

Should work fine. I'm using the 9101 and it has been working great.
Old 12-15-2007, 06:26 PM
  #780  
Ken-h
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Ken-h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Whitefish, MT
Posts: 666
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L


ORIGINAL: jgraham10

You will not need a kill servo as the kill switch from smartfly goes between the battery and the ign. module and hooks to a channel in the reciever. I put mine on the landing gear switch and when I actuate the landing gear switch it turns off the power to the ign. module. That then shuts the engine down safely and easily.
You might be thinking of a choke servo which you can use and it can be any servo you want but is really not needed. There is a alternate method described in this thread or the other thread on how to setup the choke so it can be activated without a servo. It was a real easy setup using a servo arm screwed to the engine box and two pieces of wire. You either pushed it on or off. It was a real simple solution.

What radio are you using if it is a computerized unit you will not need the matchboxes just use the mixing in the radio to setup the servos.
Throttle servo is really up to you I ended up using a digital servo I had laying around.

Nothing wrong with MPI switches but I have read (this is my first gasser too) that they cannot handle the vibrations of a gasser and will fail.
I have MPI's on everyone of my glow airplanes and just love them but I went with a HD switch that NOBS batteries sells. CERMARK also makes a HD switch that will work too.

I ended up purchasing a Jersey Model fuler and one of their fuel dots. The nice thing about their fuel dot is that it is sealed until the other end makes connection so you have no leakage back after fueling. The fueler also has a second piece of hose that you hookup to the overflow/fuel vent line and that will allow you to capture the overflow in lieu of allowing it to spill on the ground. The valve is a little expensive but nice to have. Good quality stuff.
http://www.jerseymodeler.com/id29.html
If you watch for it on the unamed websites that feature giant scale aircraft you might find a discount or so from Jersey they do that once and awhile.
John

ORIGINAL: avatar71

I am making my list...

Engine DA50
Ignition adaptor DA50
Standoffs DA50
drill jig DA50
prop TBM 22x8
spinner truturn
muffler j-tec
kill switch smartfly
throttle servo ??
aileron servo x2 5955tg
elevator servo x2 5955tg
rudder servo 5955tg
kill servo ??
servo extensions
elevator servo arms airwild
rudder servo arm airwild
aileron servo arms airwild
fueler
gas line
batteries x3 TBM
miracle switch x3 MPI
carb plate TBM
Receiver JR
jr matchbox JR

not sure what else i should do...

an opinions? One of my bigger questions is what to use for a throttle and kill servo... Can I use a standard servo or do I have to go big on these too?
avatar,

I too have used the MPI's for years now and never had a problem with them until this year. Vibration did cause the plastic back retaining cover to come off thus turning off the switch which was for my IGN. Cost me my Yak as I was doing rolling harriers on the deck. No airspeed or altitude to save it.

I will say that those switches were four years old and had at least a thousand flights on them but there's no fail "on" for that situation. I still think there an OK switch but I prefer the Fromeco reg's and HD switches. On all my old MPI's switches I still have, I take my old soldering iron and fuse the plastic back retainer to the switch case.

Ken
Old 12-16-2007, 08:30 AM
  #781  
avatar71
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: e amherst, NY
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

jgraham, I am using an x9303. Should I be able to fully program everything this way? I am a heli guy so this is all new to me...
Old 12-16-2007, 09:19 AM
  #782  
ctshepherd
My Feedback: (34)
 
ctshepherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 229
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

Avatar71,

I found this article on the Team Pilots page from Don Sczcur:

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_6612076/tm.htm

Emphasis is on Step 2 and 3 for separate aileron and elevator servo setup. Hope this helps.
Old 12-16-2007, 09:23 AM
  #783  
avatar71
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: e amherst, NY
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

yes, thanks. now I just have to go rob a quick bank to pay for this thing... I thought my helis were expensive...
Old 12-16-2007, 12:35 PM
  #784  
ctshepherd
My Feedback: (34)
 
ctshepherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 229
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

If you have a significant other, I've found it is better to ask for forgiveness than it is to ask for permission when it comes to purchasing hobby supplies.


woohoo.. one more post to 100, only taken like 3 years![X(]
Old 12-16-2007, 01:13 PM
  #785  
yarom
Senior Member
My Feedback: (82)
 
yarom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 1,306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L


Anybody got the firewall with the thrust lines marked?

I got a blank one and trying to find the measurement for the horizontal line (how far from the bottom) and the vertical line (how far from the left).

Thanks.
Old 12-17-2007, 01:01 PM
  #786  
avatar71
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: e amherst, NY
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L


ORIGINAL: yarom


Anybody got the firewall with the thrust lines marked?

I got a blank one and trying to find the measurement for the horizontal line (how far from the bottom) and the vertical line (how far from the left).

Thanks.

yeah, mine is blank too...

Additionally, would the futaba s9156 be a good choice for servo as well? 340 oz-in at 6v...[X(]
Old 12-17-2007, 01:40 PM
  #787  
ctshepherd
My Feedback: (34)
 
ctshepherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 229
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

Look on this thread:

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_66...mpage_4/tm.htm

Post 82. That has the dimensions for the firewall.
Old 12-17-2007, 06:21 PM
  #788  
yarom
Senior Member
My Feedback: (82)
 
yarom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 1,306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L



Futaba 9156 is fine. I've flown this plane in the past with JR 8411s (188oz) with no problem.

Now using the Tower 170s (clone of Hitec 5955) all over.



ORIGINAL: avatar71


ORIGINAL: yarom


Anybody got the firewall with the thrust lines marked?

I got a blank one and trying to find the measurement for the horizontal line (how far from the bottom) and the vertical line (how far from the left).

Thanks.

yeah, mine is blank too...

Additionally, would the futaba s9156 be a good choice for servo as well? 340 oz-in at 6v...[X(]
Old 08-23-2008, 11:06 AM
  #789  
bajaloya
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pampatarpampatar, VENEZUELA
Posts: 110
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

Hi, I really appreciate if someone could tell me (more or less) how long I may need to order titanium links for the ailerons and elevators. I have used the original carbon fiber from this kit for another plane. THANKS AB
Old 08-23-2008, 05:39 PM
  #790  
Richard D Bahmann aka/Wrongway
Senior Member
My Feedback: (42)
 
Richard D Bahmann aka/Wrongway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 2,422
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

Funny you should mention, I am putting one together and was working on installing hinges and linkages today. I hope these pictures help. I measured end to end because I don't know what kind of ball links you will be using.

Richard
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Db86187.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	39.2 KB
ID:	1017582   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hc93062.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	41.6 KB
ID:	1017583  
Old 08-23-2008, 06:39 PM
  #791  
bajaloya
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pampatarpampatar, VENEZUELA
Posts: 110
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

GREAT![8D][X(]
Old 08-24-2008, 12:23 PM
  #792  
yarom
Senior Member
My Feedback: (82)
 
yarom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 1,306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L


If I remember correctly, the elevators was too long for turnbuckles...
Old 08-25-2008, 09:24 AM
  #793  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L


ORIGINAL: yarom


If I remember correctly, the elevators was too long for turnbuckles...
Same thing I was going to say. That's too long for titanium links. You can use the Central Hobbies CF rods with titanium ends. Also somebody sells the same ends that come with PAU. Can't remember who.
Old 08-27-2008, 08:01 AM
  #794  
Steve
My Feedback: (54)
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ashton, ID
Posts: 2,311
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

I believe Abell Hobbies sells the push rod set. www.abellrc.com
Old 08-27-2008, 08:21 AM
  #795  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

Steve to the rescue. Thanks Steve.
Old 08-28-2008, 08:11 AM
  #796  
Steve
My Feedback: (54)
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ashton, ID
Posts: 2,311
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

Any time!![sm=thumbup.gif]
Old 09-05-2008, 03:00 PM
  #797  
avatar71
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: e amherst, NY
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

i am flying this plane with a da50 and a tbm 22x8 prop. i was told by pau that a 22x8 is the best overall prop for this plane. i have a pt and a xoar on the way. I have also considered a vess. any opinions on selection?
Old 09-05-2008, 03:10 PM
  #798  
Richard D Bahmann aka/Wrongway
Senior Member
My Feedback: (42)
 
Richard D Bahmann aka/Wrongway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 2,422
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

What exhaust are you using? Is the engine still breaking in? When I had my similar size/weight extra with DA-50and DA side exhaust I prefered the 22x8 over 23x8 (both NX brand) for my particular flying style. IMO your flying style has a lot to do with it as well.

My PAU Extra with Area 51 is stalled on the workbench while I am doing some lengthy home repairs. I hope to be back on track soon and am looking forward to enjoying the Plane/Engine Combo. I will likely start with the Vess 22A only because I already have it on hand.

WW
Old 09-06-2008, 03:40 AM
  #799  
Sparhawk
 
Sparhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Truro, NS, CANADA
Posts: 597
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

You will not go wrong with a XOAR 22x8. I am using this with my DA / Bisson pitts mufflers and it is a great combo. All the guys at our field run that XOAR with the the 50cc engines on the PAU Extra aand Edges.

Spar
Old 09-18-2008, 07:41 PM
  #800  
Richard D Bahmann aka/Wrongway
Senior Member
My Feedback: (42)
 
Richard D Bahmann aka/Wrongway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 2,422
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BME Aircraft 30% Extra330L

I finally got mine up today. With Area 51 engine, 2s1p A123-2300 Nimh 4.8 - 1450, no wheel pants, no spinner. 16 lbs 5 oz dry.

The engine runs great and the plane flys light. It was too gusty to get a real feel, my cg needs to go back. I am looking forward to putting some miles on this plane. Note to PAU....the sceme for the bottom of the wing is the best I have had to date.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.