Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

Old 03-25-2007, 04:22 PM
  #1  
i3dm
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,321
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

Hello guys,

A friend of mine is putting a Seiko PS-050 rudder servo in his 42% SD model Extra 260 and we are wondering which packs to use, he would like to use a Fromeco pack, 7.4V lithium Ion, either 2600Mah or 5200 Mah - what would you recommend ?

Whats the current consumption of the Seiko servo, and how many flights would one safely make on the (smaller) 2600 pack ?

thanks.
Old 03-25-2007, 05:22 PM
  #2  
exeter_acres
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
exeter_acres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 7,457
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

the answer that Gmoney gave you on the other site...is spot on...

get the Fromeco Seiko driver
Old 03-25-2007, 05:30 PM
  #3  
i3dm
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,321
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

Im asking about the 7.4v since this is what we have available at the moment..
Old 03-25-2007, 06:11 PM
  #4  
Taildragger726
Senior Member
 
Taildragger726's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: N Ft Myers, FL
Posts: 1,232
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

7.4 volts is fine, you can splice into the battery lead with a switch before the regulator. Draw is minimal.
Old 04-18-2008, 06:17 PM
  #5  
n8rloves2fly
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: omaha, NE
Posts: 162
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

I dont know if this thread is dead but I picked up a seiko and was going to use a 2100 or 1500 3 cell thunder pac. Will this work what would the regulater before? Isnt the seiko isolated?
Old 04-18-2008, 08:25 PM
  #6  
flying skunks
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: port orange, FL
Posts: 822
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

I use a 11.1 and love it.
Old 04-18-2008, 08:53 PM
  #7  
n8rloves2fly
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: omaha, NE
Posts: 162
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

How many MAH 1500? I'm also thinking about using two 3000 lipo on the rest 4 5945,2 5995 tg and 3003 what do you think?
Old 06-02-2008, 05:57 PM
  #8  
Hammbone
My Feedback: (309)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 1,682
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

I have an idea for my next 40% plane.
Is there any reason I can't just plug both the signal lead and the battery lead from the Seiko servo directly into a JR r1222 powersafe rx? With the new 12X tx, you would program the rx to have 2 rudder servo channels. Then just plug both plugs from the Seiko servo into the rx.
This would save the weight of the extra battery pack and simplify the set up. Since the rx has dual high current power input leads, and I'll be using dual A123 batteries, I was thinking this would still supply plenty of current flow.

Thoughts?

Jim
Old 06-02-2008, 06:46 PM
  #9  
flying skunks
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: port orange, FL
Posts: 822
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

I do believe that there is only signal comming from the "servo" lead. The power is supplied of the red and black leads. I could be wrong.
Old 06-03-2008, 07:40 AM
  #10  
Hammbone
My Feedback: (309)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 1,682
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

Yes, I think just signal comes from the servo lead, but I was wondering if you could also plug the power leads into the rx. I guess a standard plug probably would not pass enough current flow for the Seiko servo.

Jim
Old 06-03-2008, 11:19 AM
  #11  
EXTREME FLIGHT
Senior Member
 
EXTREME FLIGHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Buford, GA
Posts: 779
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

We've been using a single 3S 2100mah Lipo unregulated to power the Seiko in our 123" Extra with good results. We experienced a bit of overheating and poor centering at first but removed the case and machined some holes in it and this seems to have solved the centering issue.
I hear talk of a monster digital from Hitec for large rudder applications. I hope this happens.
Old 06-03-2008, 11:29 AM
  #12  
Hammbone
My Feedback: (309)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 1,682
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

I might solder 3 servo leads onto the power leads from the Seiko servo, and then plug these servo leads into three spare ports on the rx.
This should supply enough current flow.
I'm just trying to avoid the use of another battery and another switch just for the Seiko servo, especially when I know the A123's will provide plenty of current flow for everything.
I'm always looking for ways to save weight.

Jim
Old 06-03-2008, 12:43 PM
  #13  
Torqued-Up
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Torqued-Up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 419
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?

I use a 11.1V 1320mah Lipo for a Seiko driver on my SD 40% Yak... Love it... It burns roughly 150mah per 10 minute flight of hard 3D... I connect the Lipo to the PS-050 via 16 gauge wire, Deans & a Fromeco Badger switch... Cheap, easy, light & can be replaced in 10 seconds...


Old 06-03-2008, 12:45 PM
  #14  
Torqued-Up
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Torqued-Up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 419
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Seiko PS-050 servo battery - which one ?


ORIGINAL: flying skunks

I do believe that there is only signal comming from the "servo" lead. The power is supplied of the red and black leads. I could be wrong.
You are correct... You have to wire power into the PS-050 through the black / red wires... No power is fed through the plug that goes to the Rx...


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.