Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
 New Power Box Batteries??? >

New Power Box Batteries???

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

New Power Box Batteries???

Old 12-20-2007, 10:36 AM
  #1  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (54)
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ashton, ID
Posts: 2,354
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default New Power Box Batteries???

I'm thinking about trying a power box and the new power box batteries. How many of you are using them and are they holding up well?? Thanks.
Old 12-20-2007, 01:38 PM
  #2  
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 275
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Power Box Batteries???

I have 3 PowerBoxes - one in a 40%, one in each of two 33% planes. One problem was leaving the batteries plugged in while the 40% was in storage - they will drop below the LiPo "death" voltage if you leave them plugged into the PowerBox for an extended period of time. Now I make sure to unplug the batteries from the PowerBox between outings. You'd think they'd put a failsafe circuit in the PowerBox for as much as they charge for it - they make a standalone failsafe battery protector for gosh sakes.

Another minor annoyance - the "arm" button on the PowerBox switch (momentary pushbutton) starts to stick after a while. All three PowerBox switches had this problem. Doesn't cause flight problems, but you have to pry the button up or tap it to pop back out once in a while.

All are holding up well - the oldest one has hundreds of flights and almost 3 years now.
Old 12-20-2007, 02:35 PM
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,112
Received 737 Likes on 532 Posts
Default RE: New Power Box Batteries???

Steve

The "new" Powerbox batteries have been available for a couple of years now and we have hundreds of flights without any problems.
Never had a sticky button either and I have at least 8 systems operating with the sensor switch.

Dave Wilshere
Old 12-20-2007, 06:19 PM
  #4  
My Feedback: (16)
 
Hooked-On-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 840
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Power Box Batteries???

I fly the emcotec system with pin switches in my 35% extra and use fromeco batteries. No need to unplug these when they are not in use as there is no current draw on the batteries when not in use...I do unplug them if I plan to leave them a long time but that is just for piece of mind.
Old 12-21-2007, 09:45 AM
  #5  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (54)
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ashton, ID
Posts: 2,354
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: New Power Box Batteries???

I've looked at the Lithium Ions and think the LiPo is the way I'd like to go if I end up using the Power Box. I'll only be using the 40/16 Evolution. Its a 34% plane and I've never used a Power Box before.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.