Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Biplane trimming help

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2008, 12:41 AM
TOYMAKER
My Feedback: (6)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Biplane trimming help

OK for all you trim experts. I am not a bipe expert sooooo please chime in if you can.

My GP Ultimate w/DL 50 w/Vess 22a prop and balance at 1" in front of rear holddown bolt on top with wings off. On initial flight had to have several clicks of left aileron and about 6 clicks of down trim. It also needed a little side thrust added. I added about 1 1/2 degree downthrust and 1 degree side thrust and then flew several flights. Side thurst OK and up/down thrust seems OK on level flight when powering off it will fly level till it loses flying speed and uplines are good. I cant explain the aileron trim as wings seem to be unwarped. Here is my delima. On inverted segments especially on a 45 up line it wants to point the nose up even higher however on level inverted flight the plane requires a touch of down. Invert snaps are very quick as compared to upright and have a tendancy to over rotate.

The incidences are thus: Engine -1.5 degree to (stab +.5 degree at leading edge). Top wing -.5 degree, Bottom wing 0 degree. wings relative to stab or thrust line
AUW is 15lbs 2 oz.

Does this sound indicative of being tail heavy(my first inclination). Would reflexing the ailerons up/down help with some of these trim issues? It does pull to the belly on knife edge and wants to roll with the rudder. Even with the down thrust I still have to carry a noticable amount of down trim.

Thanks

Wayne
Old 02-27-2008, 12:46 AM
nitro wing
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Biplane trimming help

You may want to bring the upper down to - 1,maybe -1.5.
This is a just a shot in the dark,others may have better ideas.
I would asume that the stab and bottom should be 0.