Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

Power system setup questions

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Power system setup questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2008, 10:33 PM
NUTNDUN

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Power system setup questions

I wanted to get some ideas on a power system setup ie; batts, switches, regs for a 50cc setup. I know redundancy would be best but is it really needed on a 50cc plane. I have two setups I came up with, one which is cheaper and doesn't provide any redundancy and one that is a good bit more expensive and provides redundancy. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am new to the gassers and what is required for a good setup. Anyway I will list the two that I came up with.

1st one:
SMartFly ignition cutoff - $59.95
SmartFly ignition regulator - $24.95
2 x Fromeco Badger switches - $35.00 ea
2 x Fromeco 2600 relions - $45.00 ea
Total - $245.00

2nd one:
SmartFly Power System plus w/ optical kill - $199.95
SF Failsafe switch and charge pack - 19.95
Superswitch for ignition - $29.95
Ignition regulator - $24.95
3 x Fromeco 2600 relions - $45 ea
Total - $412.00
Old 08-03-2008, 08:59 AM
rcdude7
My Feedback: (264)

Default RE: Power system setup questions

You'll get all range of opinions of this. I just run two JR HD switch harneses and two 2700 mah batts on my 50cc plane. I figure the most likely failure is going to be a batt or SW anyway.
On a larger plane I would spend the money for a power dist. system. That's just my take on it, my 2 cents worth.
Old 08-03-2008, 09:36 AM
rcbill
My Feedback: (1)

Nutindun,