Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Midwest 27% extra 330S?

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2009, 07:26 PM
jay273
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Midwest 27% extra 330S?

anyone know anything about the midwest 27% extra 330S? im new to planes and have a alpha 40 trainer but i have come across this large scale plane and was thinking on purchasing it for later on...is this model really hard to fly? what type of plane is this?i just love large scale planes...any info on this plane would be great...thanks
Old 10-23-2009, 01:15 AM
DGrant
My Feedback: (4)

Received 30 Likes on 27 Posts
Default RE: Midwest 27% extra 330S?

I know of a Midwest 27%Extra300S. I built one about 8yrs ago. This plane is in the "unlimited aerobatic" category... its an Aerobat. Its a kit plane, kitted by... you guessed it.. Midwest. A rather nice kit actually, I had alot of fun building it. I upgraded most, if not all the hardware, as the kit I built was actually released back in the late '90's.. so it didn't have alot of newer stuff.... also mine even had a plastic cowling and wheel pants(the new kits don't even come with any cowling now). If you got some experience and like to build its a great kit. It took me about 7months of working about 3-4 evenings a week, and some weekends in there too...so there is quite a bit of work.. but easily doable.
For power I used a 50cc gas engine(BME). By replacing some key wood components and utilizing some composite material I got the weight right at 15lbs.
With this combo performance is really second to none in my opinion. Its such a stable plane, and so easy to fly.. just a big Cadillac. Not really a 3D plane at all.. way more at home in IMAC type manuevers, or turn-around style, or even spinning stuff.. it does some great great flat-spins.. and with a 50cc engine it is totally unlimited.