Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

what is the simplest/safest/most reliable radio system for a giant?

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

what is the simplest/safest/most reliable radio system for a giant?

Old 11-16-2009, 12:37 PM
q8cub

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what is the simplest/safest/most reliable radio system for a giant?

I just purchased an sd model YAK 50cc model which needs a radio system (Tx and Rx).

I am a computer software programmer and I know, in general, that computerized systems usually have many points of failure and this is why I always prefer "simple" systems.

I try to stay as "manual" as I can.

Given this assumption, what is the most suitable radio system from a simplicity/reliability point of view that fits such a giant model.

Thanks in advance!

Old 11-16-2009, 12:47 PM
Barry Cazier
My Feedback: (17)

Default RE: what the most simplest/safest/most reliable radio system for a giant?

One of the simplest radio is unfortunately the most expensive. The Futaba 14MZ is simple to operate and works great.
However, most don't want to put out thay kind of money. For the cheapest, not simplest, that I would use in a giant scale plane would be the Futaba 10C. I think JR makes a 9 channel that would work and maybe the new HiTec Aurora 9 channel would work also. I wounld go any less than 9 channel if it were me. If you get a plane with 4 aileron servos it's nice to have the extra channels to set up. Sure makes life easy and saves money on Y harnesses and match boxes etc. Also, it's nice to have a channel for a kill switch. You need that on a giant scale plane.

Thanks
Barry
Old 11-16-2009, 12:52 PM
q8cub

Default RE: what the most simplest/safest/most reliable radio system for a giant?