RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/giant-scale-aircraft-3d-aerobatic-110/)
-   -   50cc Reactor (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/giant-scale-aircraft-3d-aerobatic-110/7903993-50cc-reactor.html)

rdawson 01-10-2009 08:40 AM

RE: 50cc Reactor

REACTOR 50 c.c builing and flying one!!Hello, My friend Mike in Dallas, Texas built a flies a Reactor 50cc and this is what he wrote.
I must say it is a fabulous aircraft that has not disappointed me in any way. I started with the reactors with a 40 size that I flew and still fly with a Saito 82. That aircraft amazes me every time I put it in the air. I am a fair pilot yet that plane does incredible tricks with great ease, so when I heard Great Plains was going to build a 50cc version I was anxiously waiting for it to arrive in my local hobby shop. I got the plane in late October and flew it for the first time a few weeks ago. The first flight was on a windy day that I should not have flown on. I was at the field flying my little reactor and decided to do some taxing with my big reactor to test the CG and its ground handling abilities “because if you have been around the little reactor they are awful on the ground with the rear swept gear and on the 40 size, you need to turn the gear around so they will taxi on a grass field” but on 50cc inverting the gear is little more difficult so I chose to test it first then modify it if the plane tends to nose over. Well they got it right on the big reactor so after a few quick passes I turned it into the wind and nailed it. The reactor jumps off the strip quickly and flies like a dream. This is one of the very few models that I ever flown and not had to trim it all. My first flight was just some circles around the field with some slow passes to test the stall speed and its reaction. After about 5 to 10 minutes I brought it around and landed it. The plane will just creep into a landing; it