Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

SAVOX SERVOS

Old 02-05-2011, 03:22 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
bemeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PARKER, CO
Posts: 267
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SAVOX SERVOS

I am presently thinking about using some SAVOX 1256TG and 1258TG servos for a Gold Wing SBACH 342 I am building. Has anyone used these servo. I have searched the site, but I have not found many posts on these particular servos. I would appreciate any feedback. They seem to be built right and the speed and torque look good.

Thanks a ton in advance.
Brian
Old 02-05-2011, 06:21 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sunriver, OR
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: SAVOX SERVOS

Brian I bought some from R/C components and when I installed the stand-off going through the bushing it was a horrible fit.
I was concerned about irregular wear because of the fit. When installed and tightened down it was a mis-fit in my opinion.
I heard some good about these and I guess alot of Heli pilots use them, I went ahead and proceeded with Hi-Tec. I returned
the Savox at a restocking fee. Do your research, you may want to try one for a throttle servo and see what I was referring to
before you jump on five of them. I've assembled a number of giant scale and was not pleased at what I saw.
Old 02-05-2011, 06:55 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
bemeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PARKER, CO
Posts: 267
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SAVOX SERVOS

Thanks for your input...I figured someone would post a reply. I am still on the fence. I have been using HD Power DS090 on all my 30cc planes and they have worked flawlessly. I guess I will have to rethink this. Thanks again for all your help.

Brian
Old 02-08-2011, 12:07 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lemoore, CA
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SAVOX SERVOS

Not sure about bad fit, mine seem to fit fine. I bought this airframe used and it had Hitecs before. The screw pattern is different than Hitec.

I do know that there was a trick to the install, the grommets,standoffs are designed to go on only one way. I used the #3 5/8 length wood cap screws.


Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	ca81568.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	1.09 MB
ID:	1560228  
Old 02-08-2011, 10:58 PM
  #5  
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: https://t.me/pump_upp
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SAVOX SERVOS

hi
i use them all the time they are the best servo ever made
look at ebay you will find them with free shipping
http://cgi.ebay.com/Savox-SC-1256TG-...item1e60ed07d9

ilan
Old 02-09-2011, 07:30 AM
  #6  
My Feedback: (43)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 2,290
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: SAVOX SERVOS

I have read where some of the pattern guys in Europe and Asia use them and were quite happy.
Old 02-09-2011, 08:09 AM
  #7  
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: https://t.me/pump_upp
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SAVOX SERVOS

that is correct they aregreat servo i just finished install them on my yak 55 2 for elevator 1 for the rudder 2 HD 15Kg on each wing 1 Hd 10Kg on the throtle
you can't go wrong with them
ilan
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40161.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	192.1 KB
ID:	1560691   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fa85156.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	214.5 KB
ID:	1560692   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mr41467.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	179.6 KB
ID:	1560693  
Old 02-10-2011, 07:12 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
bemeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PARKER, CO
Posts: 267
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SAVOX SERVOS

Well, I have received my Savox Servos models 1256tg and 1258tg. The appear to be well made after a brief inspection. The gears are all metal and I am can not be sure if they are actually titanium because I have no way to check. The appear to be very fast and they center very nicely. I powered them by a life battery. I looked at the included servo arms and they are much like the el cheapo ones that come with the cheaper Futaba and Hitec servos. They include some allen bolts and nuts to mount the servos. I guess the heli guys do not use screws, so you will need to supply your own. The grommets are very similar to that of Futaba grommets. They also include the little metal rings that fit in the grommets.

I have almost finished installing the servos in the flight surfaces and I will let everyone know how they perform in the air. In the prior posts, some people commented on the noise of these servos. I can tell you they are quieter than my Hitec 7985mg and they appear just as smooth. The resolution appears to be good. I am using an Aurora 9 transmitter to operate the servos. The speed of the 1258 is quite a bit faster than the 1256.

Take care,

Brian
Old 02-10-2011, 09:51 PM
  #9  
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: https://t.me/pump_upp
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SAVOX SERVOS

<span style="font-size: larger">Hi
when using aurora receiver use 2 battery 1 for the servo one for powering the receiver tp avoid lockup
we test it in isreal on many models and we got almost 100% lockup with one bettery
however when using a small battery just to power the receiver we got 0% lockup
you cn use 500-1000 lipo for the receiver with a seperate switch
ilan</span>
Old 02-11-2011, 07:59 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
bemeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PARKER, CO
Posts: 267
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SAVOX SERVOS

Please explain "Lock Up"

Thanks
Brian
Old 02-11-2011, 08:19 AM
  #11  
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: https://t.me/pump_upp
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SAVOX SERVOS

lockup is a situation when the receiver is not responding at all and the plane is going down and crash
it happen when using many digital servos the drean out power from baterry
aurora is the first who came with two power jacks read about it in your manuel
ilan

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.