Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

F-15 crash

Old 03-23-2011, 03:14 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default F-15 crash

Guys:
I am a full scale pilot, Airframe and Powerplant and avid RC enthusiast. I have worked on full scale jets for 22+ years. I have seen a lot of mishaps crashes etc. in those years as well. Is it just me or is something just a little "fishy" about the F-15 wreck in Libya? Here are my questions. Maybe you can fill in some info.

1. CNN and USA today reported that the crew ejected from "High" altitude and that one crewman was rescued by a V-22 Osprey. The other crewman was rescued by the rebels and both pilot and weapons officer are back in American hands. (Great news).

now for the meat of my post.

2. I dont know how many of you have been to or witnessed a plane crash. But when planes impact the ground the dont stay in one piece. If you look at the F-15 it is relatively intact and the ordinance was laying on the ground nearby or still attached to the hardpoints on the wing. The left rudder is broken midway down, and the engine turkey feathers are nozzled for high speed (not in afterburner). I might buy a flat spin synopsis but the fuselage is not pancaked.

3. Ifwe dont have people on the ground, how did a V-22grab the pilot? We are not exporting these assets (V-22) yet and the only branches that own them are the Marines and the airforce.

Well there it is. What is your theory?

Just asking as inquiring minds want to know.

Regards
Glenn Williams
Old 03-23-2011, 03:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 crash

How about "Friendly Fire" or is such a question ultra vires?
Old 03-23-2011, 04:06 AM

The story claims that it was not shot down, but had a mechanical failure.

Glenn
Old 03-23-2011, 04:46 AM

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts