Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
 ELECTRONICS SETUP on GAS PLANE >

ELECTRONICS SETUP on GAS PLANE

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

ELECTRONICS SETUP on GAS PLANE

Old 04-07-2011, 07:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ELECTRONICS SETUP on GAS PLANE

I have been flying nitros for about 5 years now and will now be making my first foray into the "GAS" Chamber. Can anyone give me some help on setting up a 29% ultimate with a brison 3.2? The control surfaces, engine, and servos were installed by the previous owner and look to be in great shape! All this discussion of multiple batteries, switches, chokes, voltage blah blah blah is like greek to me. What do I need to get to make sure it doesn't crash without me helping it? I use a DX7 for my TX.
Old 04-07-2011, 08:09 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: ELECTRONICS SETUP on GAS PLANE

there is no great mystery involved. Just remember that the heavy duty servos require quite a bit more current than the standard servos we use in our smaller glow planes. I have found that good switches with heavier wire leads and hd extensions are a necessity. I am having good luck with A123 batteries and they do not require a voltage regulator. NiMH batteries will work well if they have enough capacity. You could run 2 6 volt (5 cell) 2000 packs and feel comfortable on this size plane. Remember you will also need a 4.8 volt battery for the ignition on the engine. A decent 1200-2000mah NiMH will be fine for this, along with a good quality switch. A simple system if you want to use NiMH batteries would have two battery packs, with two hd switches going to the receiver. Then you would separately have a 4.8 pack and switch for the ignition system.
Old 04-07-2011, 08:23 AM

Thanks for the reply,

1. Where do I find A123 batteries and do I need a special charger for them. Do I need two of them and what size?