Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
Reload this Page >

to use smartfly or not

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

to use smartfly or not

Old 12-05-2012, 08:50 AM
  #1  
gobigorgohome
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: near Halifax, NS, CANADA
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default to use smartfly or not

Ok guys i have never used a smartfly regulator before and have had 6 differrent 50cc aircraft. I now have a 33% hanger 9 sukhoi. Do i have to use one or can i keep doing the same setup i have always done in the 30% just using the rx, batteries and switches.

Pro's and con's either way would be helpful. How do you have them setup.
Old 12-05-2012, 08:54 AM
  #2  
Tony Hallo
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springdale, PA
Posts: 1,778
Received 42 Likes on 41 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

Are you talking about a regulator or the power distributionsystem? Not one in the same.
Old 12-05-2012, 09:21 AM
  #3  
gobigorgohome
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: near Halifax, NS, CANADA
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

The regulator. I am just wondering if this is a must need thing or can you still just use the rx. I havent used regulators or distributers. I'm just wondering what i can or should be doing with my setup. The servos i will be using are out of one of my 50cc aircrat where i had used a 6v 2200 nimh on rx and 1400 nicad on the engine.
Old 12-05-2012, 09:34 AM
  #4  
phantomdriver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sunriver, OR
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

I've used relion batteries & smartfly system for reliebility in all my 30% and larger scale. Never had a issue with any of my planes.
There is alot of different setups as there is colors just my setups have always worked very well for me.....
Old 12-06-2012, 07:32 AM
  #5  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,577
Received 50 Likes on 39 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

Okay you're quite possibly asking for trouble on a 33% size model vs. what's worked for you on a 50cc size gasser. Specifically the use of NiMH batteries can be problematic depending on size and IR ratings of the cells and just off hand I don't recall seeing any 2200mah NiMH cells I'd trust to a 33% size model.

As for what else you might need depends on your radio setup and whether or not it can handle the four wing servo matching? Some rx's have an electrical buss capable of handling the model, some don't, some electrical switches when setup correctly will do fine some won't.

As mentioned, there are lots of ways to do a 33% size power system but you WILL need more capability than your 50cc stuff is using.
Old 12-06-2012, 08:47 AM
  #6  
gobigorgohome
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: near Halifax, NS, CANADA
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

Ok - so i am listening and appreciating what is being said. So what do i need to do then. As i have said i have not used a setup like this before. Is there certain things ( which smartfly - what batteries i can use ) that will help me out. I fly with a futaba 9c 2.4 and am using a faast 617 receiver.

Thanks to those who have responded so far.

On the sukhoi it only has one servo per wing - there are two for the elevator and one for the rudder. The jr 8711's are what is being used.
Old 12-06-2012, 09:03 AM
  #7  
DadsToysBG
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 2,497
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

the best battery is A123's 6>6v no need for a regulator. the jr 78711's can draw high amps. when called for. With the Smartfly you get 6.6 to the servos bypassing the receiver. No voltage drop. the smartfly also uses a "dead mans switch" no current goes thru the switch. Use as few connectors as you can. I solder my servos to the extensions, only using one plug at the Smartfly. the smartfly delivers 5v to the receiver and 6.6v from the panel to the servos. Iuse 20ga. wire thru out the plane. Dennis
Old 12-06-2012, 10:20 AM
  #8  
gobigorgohome
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: near Halifax, NS, CANADA
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

So what smart fly product are you using then?
Old 12-06-2012, 10:52 AM
  #9  
DadsToysBG
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 2,497
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

The SmartFly Pro. Dennis
Old 12-06-2012, 11:06 AM
  #10  
gobigorgohome
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: near Halifax, NS, CANADA
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

Is that the power expander?
Old 12-06-2012, 11:13 AM
  #11  
DadsToysBG
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 2,497
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

He calls it a power distribution unit. Dennis
Old 12-06-2012, 11:19 AM
  #12  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,205
Received 259 Likes on 208 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not


ORIGINAL: gobigorgohome

Ok - so i am listening and appreciating what is being said. So what do i need to do then. As i have said i have not used a setup like this before. Is there certain things ( which smartfly - what batteries i can use ) that will help me out. I fly with a futaba 9c 2.4 and am using a faast 617 receiver.

Thanks to those who have responded so far.

On the sukhoi it only has one servo per wing - there are two for the elevator and one for the rudder. The jr 8711's are what is being used.
Given this, I wouldn't worry about a power expander. I'd run dual A123 batteries, each through an individual switch, to different ports on the reciever.

Thats essentially a 50cc setup servo wise.
Old 12-07-2012, 08:41 PM
  #13  
snuts
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: camrose alberta, AB, CANADA
Posts: 514
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

I to have the same airframe. As Andy has suggested Parallel A123 packs as a minimum. Also similar to my 50cc airframes. see link.
http://www.hangtimes.com/parallel_packs.html
I picture the real question as being. When are you going to start using distribution systems, then regs. If that is the case, yes you are at that point, and these will work well. By your handle, your only going to get bigger, (ha-ha).
Hope this helps, it really comes down to you. But, yes at 33% you can justify upgrading your power distribution.
-Snuts-
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94530.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	95.5 KB
ID:	1827660  
Old 12-08-2012, 02:15 PM
  #14  
Flyer88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CALGARY, AB, CANADA
Posts: 238
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

Is that the flying field in Camrose Alberta ??

Gotta come visit !
Old 12-09-2012, 10:30 AM
  #15  
snuts
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: camrose alberta, AB, CANADA
Posts: 514
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

No, Elk Point Alberta. Travel Alberta lables it in there information as the "Best Model Airplane Feild in Alberta" We attend both of there 3+ day events each summer.

Now back to our regularly schedulede thread!

-Snuts-
(P.M. on it's way)
Old 12-10-2012, 10:15 AM
  #16  
gobigorgohome
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: near Halifax, NS, CANADA
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

So maybe this is a dumb question but why into seperate slots on the rx. Why couldn't you go y harness into one slot and if one battery fails the other on is still there.
Old 12-10-2012, 10:45 AM
  #17  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,205
Received 259 Likes on 208 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

You can if you need to.

But if you have an open port it eliminates a Y harness.
Old 12-10-2012, 11:11 AM
  #18  
600Bob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: , OR
Posts: 137
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

Redundancy, with a Y you have two batteries hooked to one pair of pins on the RX. I have two RX batteries, one goes to the Batt. channel the other goes to a Y on an aileron channel.
ORIGINAL: gobigorgohome

So maybe this is a dumb question but why into seperate slots on the rx. Why couldn't you go y harness into one slot and if one battery fails the other on is still there.
Old 12-25-2012, 04:52 PM
  #19  
snuts
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: camrose alberta, AB, CANADA
Posts: 514
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

Never choke ALL your current draw through a Y harness. This is your weak link, and definatly the point to fail. Not a redundant system. A redundant system will have power if the other side ever becomes open momentarily. If you run out of ports on your receiver then back-feed through a Y harness on any channel, such as the throtle, rudder etc.
Often used as a link for clarity. Crazy good amount of information here.
http://www.hangtimes.com/parallel_packs.html


-Snuts-
Old 12-25-2012, 06:09 PM
  #20  
telejojo
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: HUNTSVILLE, AL
Posts: 830
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: to use smartfly or not

I use the Smartfly power expander on all my big planes,you can use 2 bats. and you won't have to use y's you get 2 ports per channel.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.