Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
Recommendations for first giant scale plane >

Recommendations for first giant scale plane

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

Recommendations for first giant scale plane

Old 06-12-2023, 01:47 PM
My Feedback: (27)

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Recommendations for first giant scale plane

I've been flying 40 & 60 size for all of my 20 years of this hobby. I would like to transition to 1/5 size eventually. What is a good recommendation for a first time giant plane? I've been looking at an 81" easy stick.
Old 06-19-2023, 07:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

buy a quality engine like DA 70 and get a floater 3D plane from Flex Innovation ,ExtremeFlight or any good quality 30% and turn the rates down til you get the hang of it. after flying .40-.60 these planes are super stable and easy to fly. good luck
Old 06-20-2023, 08:45 AM

Received 92 Likes on 78 Posts

What sort of larger airplane do you want to get into? Scale? 3-D? If you just want to futz around the field a big Easy Stick would be just fine. Your 40-60 sized flying skills should transfer to a larger plane just fine as long as you aren't trying to jump straight into an overweight warbird. Airboss' comments on getting a quality engine and dialing back the throws on an already sorted plane are on point. One thing to be mindful of is that there are differences in plumbing when you go from glow to gasoline and you will want to be sure that you get appropriate servos. Unless you have been pylon racing or some such a .40 size airplane's servo requirements haven't changed much since the 1980's. Once you start getting past an 80 inch wing servo torque requirements go up considerably.
Old 07-06-2023, 02:23 AM

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Giant scale transition

Originally Posted by 7aso