Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
Reload this Page >

World Models 1/3 Super Cub

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

World Models 1/3 Super Cub

Old 07-23-2009, 12:22 PM
  #251  
jbarnes
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mead, CO
Posts: 1,030
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

I know what you mean. Everytime I take mine out of the trailer I gather a crowd. I'm thinking of building a 40% one next year. Check out AMR RC for thier 42% Cub they will have available. I'm building their Giant Stick and its a excellent kit. Jerry.
Old 08-03-2009, 01:16 PM
  #252  
sweetpea01
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lebanon OH
Posts: 3,349
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

While I only have the Clipped cub......its sweet

Old 09-28-2009, 10:53 AM
  #253  
Mokken
My Feedback: (63)
 
Mokken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bethlehem, GA
Posts: 1,199
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

I have a set of 1/3 Scale WM supercub gear for sale. These were made by Carl Swenson - See attached photos. The gear cost $200, I'll sell for $150/shipped
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca82122.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	59.5 KB
ID:	1284134   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zu64154.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	62.0 KB
ID:	1284135   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ej13801.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	66.1 KB
ID:	1284136  
Old 09-30-2009, 09:02 AM
  #254  
ZeroDave
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wimberley, TX
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

Pm sent
Old 09-30-2009, 09:21 AM
  #255  
Mokken
My Feedback: (63)
 
Mokken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bethlehem, GA
Posts: 1,199
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub


ORIGINAL: ZeroDave

Pm sent
Replied..
Old 11-24-2009, 01:20 AM
  #256  
zdsh13
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lacombe, AB, CANADA
Posts: 244
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

ORIGINAL: Mokken

Would a DA-85 fit well in the cowl? How much of the bottom of the cowl would have to be cut out?
Does anyone have pics of a DA85 install, I'm planning on this engine combo for my super cub.

Old 11-24-2009, 08:37 AM
  #257  
Mokken
My Feedback: (63)
 
Mokken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bethlehem, GA
Posts: 1,199
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub


ORIGINAL: zdsh13

ORIGINAL: Mokken

Would a DA-85 fit well in the cowl? How much of the bottom of the cowl would have to be cut out?
Does anyone have pics of a DA85 install, I'm planning on this engine combo for my super cub.

There was someone here on FG who posted a pic of their CUB with a DA-85, the whole bottom of the cowl had to be cut out, it didn't look pretty.
Old 11-24-2009, 12:37 PM
  #258  
ricomari
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 178
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

Hello, I'm wanting to get the 1/3 clipped wing cub. I'll be stacking it in trailer along with another 35% Edge 540, can anyone give me the measurements of how wide the horizontal stabilizer is and how wide is the main landing gear stance is. I saw a few large clipped wing cubs fly at the Joe Nall this year and got the fever for one. Thanks! Henry
Old 11-24-2009, 03:14 PM
  #259  
BAS
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Altoona, IA
Posts: 1,488
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

Sweetpea i am clipping my full wing cub and going to put a BME 95 twin up front >Was wondering did you have to split the cowl as far getting the cowl over the cylinders??
Old 11-24-2009, 03:20 PM
  #260  
lever02
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: columbia, SC
Posts: 309
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

The rear stab is about 36'' wide...front gear with balloon tires is 24''..
Old 11-24-2009, 03:35 PM
  #261  
jbarnes
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mead, CO
Posts: 1,030
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

BAS, I have the DL100 in mine and I did not have to split the cowl. It barely fits but it makes it without the need to split. Jerry,
Old 11-24-2009, 05:57 PM
  #262  
BAS
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Altoona, IA
Posts: 1,488
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

OK thanks Jerry for the info
Old 11-24-2009, 06:26 PM
  #263  
sweetpea01
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lebanon OH
Posts: 3,349
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

For the 106 I found that I had to split the cowl. But only the front section that slides over the fuse. It only requires 1 extra screw on each side to mount the cowl and lots of flights later its doing fine.
Old 11-24-2009, 06:29 PM
  #264  
BAS
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Altoona, IA
Posts: 1,488
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

OK thanks Sweetpee I am hoping to find a super cub cowl from Airborne I know they dont make the super cub any more but hopefully they have a cowl in stock
Old 11-24-2009, 07:19 PM
  #265  
ricomari
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 178
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub


LEVER02: Thanks for the info...big bird. Not sure which engine yet....55 or 111 dle. My style of flying is slow with powerful uplines. I enjoy flying on the wing then pull into a loop from level flight....or a slow knife edge. No hovering, is the 55DLE enough? Again thanks!
Old 11-24-2009, 07:33 PM
  #266  
sweetpea01
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lebanon OH
Posts: 3,349
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

I'd think the 55 will be marginal for anything other than real scale flying. I'd say a 65+ would be the way to go. 80-85 is probably perfect. The 106 is overkill but I only fly around at 1/3 to 1/2 throttle unless its an upline or something 3-dish.
Old 11-24-2009, 08:06 PM
  #267  
BAS
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Altoona, IA
Posts: 1,488
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

Yea i have a FPE 4.2 on mine and it is not ballastic by any means. Its above scale but not by much
Old 11-24-2009, 09:16 PM
  #268  
lever02
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: columbia, SC
Posts: 309
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub


ORIGINAL: ricomari


LEVER02: Thanks for the info...big bird. Not sure which engine yet....55 or 111 dle. My style of flying is slow with powerful uplines. I enjoy flying on the wing then pull into a loop from level flight....or a slow knife edge. No hovering, is the 55DLE enough? Again thanks!
I'm using a Zenoah GT80, Goldilocks would have picked this engine, just right, not too hot, not too cool. Go with the DLE111 you won't be disappointed.
Old 11-24-2009, 09:26 PM
  #269  
ricomari
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 178
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

DLE111...POWER: It's better to have it and not need it than need it and not have it.......AVP had it right! Rudder 7955 and the rest of the surfaces 5645...sound good?
Old 11-24-2009, 09:30 PM
  #270  
Mokken
My Feedback: (63)
 
Mokken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bethlehem, GA
Posts: 1,199
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

I have all 5645's on mine, I see no reason to have a 7955 of the rudder, unless you have one laying around.

I'm flying this weekend and will bring the HD camera and have someone video mine flying. It's such a joy to fly, and the zrcgf 62cc on the front pulls it around fine. It will hang on the prop at full throttle, then slowly tail slide, lots of fun!!!!
Old 11-24-2009, 09:38 PM
  #271  
ricomari
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 178
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

GREAT! I have five 5645 sitting around collecting unemployment. Looking forward to your video. What is your electrical set up....Batt., regulators, switches?
Old 11-24-2009, 09:54 PM
  #272  
Mokken
My Feedback: (63)
 
Mokken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bethlehem, GA
Posts: 1,199
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

I'm running dual A123 packs (unregulated) through a smart fly bat-share, to a Fromeco Wolverine switch. Have an a123 pack on a 6v regulator on a JR charge switch, with a smart-fly ignition cut off.
Old 11-24-2009, 10:03 PM
  #273  
ricomari
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 178
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

I want to keep it simple also, I have a cube charger for Li-on batt. so I want to stay with li-ons. Just have to put it on paper! What do you charge the 123's on. What are you using for the throttle servo......is the 6vplus okay?
Old 11-24-2009, 10:17 PM
  #274  
sweetpea01
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lebanon OH
Posts: 3,349
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

I did 2 6800 LION packs (they are large and heavy) and 2 2400 packs for ignition and smoke. I use MPI standard regs at 6V including throttle since my 3W106 has a DA ignition. 4 Switches. I also have the Batt share in my plane. I used 8411's on the surfaces and 811 on the throttle.
Old 11-24-2009, 10:17 PM
  #275  
Mokken
My Feedback: (63)
 
Mokken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bethlehem, GA
Posts: 1,199
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: World Models 1/3 Super Cub

6.6v is nominal voltage on A123 packs, around the same for a 6.0v NIMH battery. All of my airplanes have A123 packs, and I use my Fromeco cube to charge them. I have a JR DS821 on the throttle. I have not had any problems with A123 packs with any servo I'm put them on. Have lots of 5645's, 5945's, 5955's and 7555's, even the cheap JR analog servos work.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.