Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
Reload this Page >

Building the Hangar 9 Cessna 182 Skylane

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

Building the Hangar 9 Cessna 182 Skylane

Old 03-18-2014, 05:34 PM
  #1251  
RonTins
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 595
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Contact Dan at Details4Scale.
Old 03-19-2014, 04:34 AM
  #1252  
rgaynor
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 508
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Thanks RonTins - I will check them out.
Old 06-13-2014, 12:43 PM
  #1253  
millsy14
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Elwood, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 52
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi, can you tell me where you got a longer prop lock nut for the Gemini 160. With the onboard starter, freewheel unit and spinner backplate, the locknnut will not reach the crankshaft threads?
Old 06-14-2014, 09:20 AM
  #1254  
RonTins
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 595
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by millsy14 View Post
Hi, can you tell me where you got a longer prop lock nut for the Gemini 160. With the onboard starter, freewheel unit and spinner backplate, the locknnut will not reach the crankshaft threads?
There were two lock nuts supplied with the Gemini if I can recall. One of the was long enough to reach the crankshaft threads. I believe Truturn also sell locknuts. Try them to see if they have a longer one. Good luck and let us know if you find one. Curious to know the size of prop being used.
Old 10-01-2014, 06:33 PM
  #1255  
RonTins
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 595
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Are other Cessna 182's flying out there?
Old 10-01-2014, 07:07 PM
  #1256  
rgaynor
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 508
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Yes there are. I completely rebuilt one that was originally IC and converted it to electric. I fiber glassed everything except the wings, installed custom lighting and maiden it last week at Joe Nall eWeek. No clicks of the trim tabs needed - she flew GREAT.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-09-21 19.29.07.jpg
Views:	197
Size:	821.7 KB
ID:	2036624   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-09-21 19.28.30.jpg
Views:	189
Size:	502.7 KB
ID:	2036625   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-09-18 18.53.22.jpg
Views:	194
Size:	468.7 KB
ID:	2036626   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-09-14 22.26.35.jpg
Views:	221
Size:	946.0 KB
ID:	2036627   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-09-14 20.40.44.jpg
Views:	220
Size:	776.3 KB
ID:	2036628   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-09-14 20.40.11.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	757.6 KB
ID:	2036629   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-07-30 20.10.42.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	1.15 MB
ID:	2036630  
Old 10-01-2014, 07:21 PM
  #1257  
AndyF
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
AndyF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 774
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

rgaynor,

That looks awesome. I still haven't built mine. it is sitting on its main gear but that is as far as I have gone. What motor/battery combination are you running?
Old 10-02-2014, 12:00 AM
  #1258  
Marco marquez
Junior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have 2 Cessna one brand new and a used one both have dle30 that fly great!!!!!
Old 10-02-2014, 04:40 AM
  #1259  
rgaynor
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 508
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

I am running an e-flite Power 160 on a Castle Creation 85HV and a cut down 20x10 (to 19x10) Xoar prop. I have a ton of power flying on a 10s 4500mah set up
Old 10-02-2014, 06:54 AM
  #1260  
AndyF
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
AndyF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 774
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Marco marquez View Post
I have 2 Cessna one brand new and a used one both have dle30 that fly great!!!!!
Marco, that is what I finally settled on. I have a DLE30 rear carb model to put on it. My question to you is does it fit completely within the cowl or did you have to cut part of it?

Andy
Old 10-02-2014, 06:59 AM
  #1261  
AndyF
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
AndyF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 774
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rgaynor View Post
I am running an e-flite Power 160 on a Castle Creation 85HV and a cut down 20x10 (to 19x10) Xoar prop. I have a ton of power flying on a 10s 4500mah set up
Thanks, that's good to know. Since I have the DLE30 I'll probably stick with that but I really like the idea of going electric. Are you running a two blade or three blade prop? how many minutes do you get on a flight.

Thanks,

Andy
Old 10-02-2014, 07:27 AM
  #1262  
rgaynor
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 508
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

currently running a 2 blade and get 8 minutes easily.
Old 10-02-2014, 08:31 AM
  #1263  
AndyF
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
AndyF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 774
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rgaynor View Post
currently running a 2 blade and get 8 minutes easily.
Okay cool.

Thanks,

Andy
Old 10-02-2014, 01:58 PM
  #1264  
RonTins
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 595
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rgaynor View Post
Yes there are. I completely rebuilt one that was originally IC and converted it to electric. I fiber glassed everything except the wings, installed custom lighting and maiden it last week at Joe Nall eWeek. No clicks of the trim tabs needed - she flew GREAT.
Rgaynor:
You have me drooling over your pics. You panel is awesome, and your doors are just flawless. How much clearance do you have when using the 20 in prop? I imagine you pretty much creasing it in while landing. Do you have pictures of it in flight?
Old 10-02-2014, 04:19 PM
  #1265  
rgaynor
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 508
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Thanks RonTins - I actually shaved down the 20x10 prop to 19x10. I have 1 1/2" clearance with non-compressed struts and 1/2' compressed. Thank goodness I fly on a low cut sod field and a tar runway. Thinking about moving to a 3 blade down the road.
Old 10-06-2014, 04:56 PM
  #1266  
Len Todd
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baldwin, MI
Posts: 1,486
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Mine is still flyin'. It has a stinky ol' OS160 and a 3 blade prop. Lots of prop to ground clearance! Had to rework the nose wheel pant last month though. The darned thing went lean on me and had to deadstick in. That plane is a lot to deadstick on a low flying turn! Seems like that wheel pant is always catching heck! Anyway, ... got it back in tip-top shape. May load it into the trailer tomorrow, just in case the weather warms up a bit this week.
Old 11-01-2014, 04:13 PM
  #1267  
RonTins
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 595
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hey Len. I have the same setup as you. How heavy is your bird? Mine comes in at about 28LBS.
Old 11-01-2014, 05:00 PM
  #1268  
Len Todd
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baldwin, MI
Posts: 1,486
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Mine shows 21 lbs on the scale. 7 lbs more is a lot. Maybe my scale needs calibration. I also have two pilots and some added scale items. It sure looks scale flyin'.
Old 11-01-2014, 05:47 PM
  #1269  
RonTins
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 595
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mine has a lot in it. I have lights, breaks, electric starter for the OS engine, five batteries up front around the firewall and a scaled cockpit with two pilots. Sure looks scale...
Old 11-02-2014, 07:08 AM
  #1270  
Len Todd
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baldwin, MI
Posts: 1,486
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

The Emcee at the Thompsonville Air Show once forgot I was up with mine while they were cleaning up a crash on the runway. I was loitering, for several minutes, on the far end in the backfield waiting for the runway to clear. I sent my spotter to go over and help with the cleanup cause I was getting low on fuel. In the meantime the Emcee started lining up two choppers on the runway for the next part of the show. I was close to running out of fuel so I started to land. The Emcee then caught a glimpse of my 182, out of the corner of his eye, and he started yelling on the Mic, "Oh, my God, there is a full scale plane landing." When I heard that, I started looking for the full--scale plane and and started to waved off. But, ... then I ran out of fuel and had to return to an approach on the runway. Then, I had to dodge the two chopper pilots who were trying to retrieve their choppers off the runway so the full-scale could land. What a mess! I landed long. Then the club President came down to tell me that the Emcee mistook my plane for a full-scale. We then had a discussion about the Emcee needing to get his glasses re-checked, cause he just went to the eye doc a couple days ago. ! Real story!
Old 01-01-2015, 08:50 AM
  #1271  
eagledancer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,032
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

hey guys are there anyone still around? i need the cg point on this bird, just acquired one that is totally built and never flown, just got done changing over to spectrum radio and double checking servo set ups ect. but i have no idea where the cg point is. anyone?
Old 01-01-2015, 09:02 AM
  #1272  
AndyF
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
AndyF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 774
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by eagledancer View Post
hey guys are there anyone still around? i need the cg point on this bird, just acquired one that is totally built and never flown, just got done changing over to spectrum radio and double checking servo set ups ect. but i have no idea where the cg point is. anyone?
The CG is 4" behind the leading edge. I just checked my instruction book.

Andy
Old 01-01-2015, 10:32 AM
  #1273  
eagledancer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,032
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

thank you so much!!!!!!!! now for test flights!
Old 01-01-2015, 10:37 AM
  #1274  
AndyF
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
AndyF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 774
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Old 01-01-2015, 02:49 PM
  #1275  
eagledancer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,032
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

balanced slightly nose heavy with full tank of fuel. nice flying aircraft! did some playing around with flap/elevator mix and got that dialed in.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.