Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
Reload this Page >

Sig Sundancer Giant Scale

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

Sig Sundancer Giant Scale

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2008, 11:12 AM
plasticjoe
My Feedback: (22)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sig Sundancer Giant Scale

I just "aquired" a Sig Sundancer ARF... the BIG one... and I am a TOTAL newbie to gas engines... soo.... I am curious what would be a good .. reliable... economical ( not cheep... but I DO have a kid starting college in the fall ) Gas Motor to put in it.... I've seen some Chinese motors at the field that seem reliable... but I have nowhere or no idea where to start looking.... or what size I would need for that matter... here are the specs on the plane

Specifications:
Wing Span: 71.5 in 1816 mm
Wing Area: 1688 in² 108.90 dm²
Fuselage Length: 66 in 1676 mm
Flying Weight 17 - 18 lbs 7710 - 8165 g
Engine Required: 3.2 to 4.2 in³ (52 - 68 cm³) Gas
Radio Required: 4 channel, 8 servos

I am planning on HS-645 MG's all around for the servos.... but the motor... I am at a loss on....

any input would be greatly appreciated... thanks !!

Old 11-13-2008, 11:38 AM
FLYINMIKE-RCU
My Feedback: (25)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Sig Sundancer Giant Scale

I'd Go With A Zenoah G45. Simple, Reliable And They Last Forever.
Old 11-13-2008, 04:43 PM
jbarnes

You can pick up used G62's for less than $300 and they are great engines. I have a G62 in my Aeromaster which is basically the same size.
Old 11-19-2008, 10:46 PM
FlyingPilgrim
My Feedback: (26)