Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Glow Engines
Reload this Page >

OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true

Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true

Old 01-22-2013, 07:59 PM
  #1  
raron455
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (38)
 
raron455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waco TX
Posts: 1,103
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true

I bought an OS max 52 surpass 4-stroke for my .40 size spitfire I am building, I got a good price, 50.00 It has a prop on it,, I turned it over by hand and noticed there was not much compression at all, on the compression stroke,I hear the valvetrain moving, so I believe it is all working,, The seller told me that the engine will not really have compression until it has fuel in it?? is this true,, I am new to these engines, I bought it he seemed like an honest enough old timer,
Thanks fellas

I also have to mount it inverted, I was told I have to use an onboard glow driver to help prevent flooding and dying at low throttle?
Old 01-22-2013, 09:36 PM
  #2  
noveldoc
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 644
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true

Fuel and warming up will help compression. Also check the valve settings.

Tom
Old 01-23-2013, 03:06 AM
  #3  
pe reivers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Arcen, , NETHERLANDS
Posts: 6,571
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true

Sometimes, if they sat in storage for a while, they will only get good compression after running for a minute or so.
Old 01-23-2013, 06:53 AM
  #4  
proptop
My Feedback: (8)
 
proptop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rome, NY
Posts: 7,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true

Also, if the throttle is all the way closed when you're turning it over...that can make the compression feel soft...
Old 01-23-2013, 10:09 AM
  #5  
john josey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: glasgow, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 978
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true

I have the same engine from new that had the same issue when i turned it over from been laid up for a couple of years, a stuck valve was the cause.
Old 01-24-2013, 06:01 AM
  #6  
tkline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: powell, TX
Posts: 127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true

You need to make sure the valves aren't gummed up but more than likely it just needs to be run some and as to the onboard glow driver if an engine is adjusted correctly and the fuel tank is in the correct position with the carb there is no need for an onboard glow driver all it will do is add weight to your spit and you will want to eliminate all the weight you can if you are putting a .52 on a .40 sized model I normally try to put at least a .70 four stroke on a .40 size plane but it just depends on the total weight of the model. Just my .02
Old 01-24-2013, 11:49 AM
  #7  
pe reivers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Arcen, , NETHERLANDS
Posts: 6,571
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true

I had a 5.5 kilo Spit using an OS90 4-stroke (not surpass)
The engine was mounted inverted, and I had a Micro switch operated on board single NiCd cell for glow, active below 1/3rd throttle, dead on throttle cut.
I could idle the engine at about 1400 rpm. When I cut glow support, it would die. Very convenient to set up, and weight certainly was no problem at all. The (Sterling kit) Spit would fly just like the real thing. Nothing Jackrabbit, but steady.
Old 01-24-2013, 12:16 PM
  #8  
john josey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: glasgow, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 978
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true


ORIGINAL: pe reivers

I had a 5.5 kilo Spit using an OS90 4-stroke (not surpass)
The engine was mounted inverted, and I had a Micro switch operated on board single NiCd cell for glow, active below 1/3rd throttle, dead on throttle cut.
I could idle the engine at about 1400 rpm. When I cut glow support, it would die. Very convenient to set up, and weight certainly was no problem at all. The (Sterling kit) Spit would fly just like the real thing. Nothing Jackrabbit, but steady.
I had the same set-up on my pilot pitts, a 3amp sub c battery and micro switch. Although it would idle fine, it was quite 'lumpy' and the onboard glow smoothed it out to super sweet !
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Om32805.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	52.3 KB
ID:	1843872  
Old 01-25-2013, 08:55 AM
  #9  
Four Stroker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: , GA
Posts: 351
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true

That was then and this is now. Get a Switch Glo which plugs directly to your receiver. No extra battery. Works great in a big plane where you have a big battery anyway. Not good if you use a AA pack in a small plane.
Old 01-28-2013, 04:31 AM
  #10  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 9,738
Received 64 Likes on 57 Posts
Default RE: OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true

They lose compression when sitting for a while, especially if they have been flipped dry a lot. A small amount of glow fuel, or after run oil shot into it will boost compression before you can run it if you want to feel compression in it.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.