Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

ASP .61 Four Stroke-No Break in.

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2014, 09:54 PM
CLBetten
My Feedback: (16)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ASP .61 Four Stroke-No Break in.

I just received my new ASP .61 four stroke. I've had no experience with ASP and had poor results finding people to quiz about this one. I bought it because it's power to weight claims are excellent and the price was amazing. I have no preconception about it and hope/ expect everything I'd expect from any other engine. I wonder if the low price may drive away experienced fliers and attract newbies? It looks and feels well made. My concern is the instructions. They claim the engine requires no break in whatsoever and therefore offer no break in suggestions. I think they are shooting themselves in the foot. While it may not be necessary I can't imagine that a ringed four stroke doesn't benefit from a mild break in that enables cooler running and more lubrication, especially in the long run. Also I think it's the perfect opportunity to familiarize yourself with your new engine, especially for the newbies if my previous theory is correct. Opinions...?
Old 12-13-2014, 11:49 PM
HunkaJunk

I haven't "broke in" an engine for years, I break them in on an air frame while flying them. In my opinion, most all of the manufacturers these days have much better machine tolerances than in the past.
Old 12-14-2014, 02:48 AM
1QwkSport2.5r

Received 76 Likes on 69 Posts

Unless they test run them, the piston ring, Rod ends, bearings, etc. all need to bed in. Especially the piston ring. Engines rarely run like they're supposed to until that ring is seated. I am one of those that will always break an engine in on a test bench before putting it into service. I'd not be one to "fly it in" on the initial runs either. Too much left for chance.
Old 12-14-2014, 05:18 PM
the pope