Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Glow Engines
Reload this Page >

On Board Glow Drivers. Discussion Q&A

Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

On Board Glow Drivers. Discussion Q&A

Old 11-08-2015, 04:12 PM
SlickZERO

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default On Board Glow Drivers. Discussion Q&A

I use all 4 stroke, mostly cowled in, and some inverted. I love the on board glow drivers. I have been using Sullivan for many years. When properly set up I just turn it on, hit the starter, and fly. They will sit there an idle for a long as it takes to get to the flight line.
Recently I have noticed several others. Many have been out for a long time but I have no personal experience with them. I just ordered a SwitchGlo Pro unit for a small plane because you can use the receiver battery. Anybody have one and maybe programming advise?
Hopefully we can discuss and get answers for various OBG systems.

I know there are people that swear by CDI ignition systems even for glow engines.
CDI is a great system but this thread is for us glow plug nuts that want to use on board glow and/or experiment with them.
Old 11-09-2015, 04:05 PM
coriolan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Using the receiver batt. to power an On board glow driver might be risky,potential control loss when the voltage drop too much!
Old 11-09-2015, 04:16 PM
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Only if you have it set up so the plug is glowing all the time..............usually you activate it when the throttle is 99% down. Well, maybe 95%
Old 11-10-2015, 05:59 AM
TomCrump

Originally Posted by tailskid View Post
Only if you have it set up so the plug is glowing all the time..............usually you activate it when the throttle is 99% down. Well, maybe 95%